Change Mac address?

Discussion in 'Viewsonic gTablet Technical' started by Geeman, Jul 10, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Geeman
    Offline

    Geeman Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Tablet / Device:
    gTablet
    Does anyone know how to do this? I can see many failed attempts...can anyone provide walkthrough for rooted?

    Sent from my VEGAn-TAB-v1.0.0b5.1.1 using Android Tablet Forum
  2. tumpy
    Offline

    tumpy Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NYC
    Tablet / Device:
    Elocity A7
    If i am not mistaking one cannot physically change a mac address its a unique hardware#, you can clone or make a dummy one within router option, i may be wrong..
  3. Geeman
    Offline

    Geeman Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Tablet / Device:
    gTablet
    I guess that's what i mean...to spoof the MAC address temporarily for testing. purposes....

    I've seen many threads about it on XDA forums...but no working solution yet.

    Anyone here can help?

    Sent from my VEGAn-TAB-v1.0.0b5.1.1 using Android Tablet Forum
  4. gadgetrants
    Offline

    gadgetrants Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,256
    Likes Received:
    81
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Tablet / Device:
    Asus OG Transformer, Droid 3
    My intuition is XDA is the more technically-inclined site. If you haven't found a solution there, I suspect it isn't here either.

    Just curious what you have planned...perhaps there is another strategy to solve the problem?

    -Matt
  5. Geeman
    Offline

    Geeman Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Tablet / Device:
    gTablet
    No big deal... Theres a coffee shop locally that has a half hour limit on wifi... If like to extend it if I can.... Changing the Mac address its the best way to do that that I can think of.

    Sent from my VEGAn-TAB-v1.0.0b5.1.1 using Android Tablet Forum
  6. gadgetrants
    Offline

    gadgetrants Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,256
    Likes Received:
    81
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Tablet / Device:
    Asus OG Transformer, Droid 3
    AAahhhhhhhhh...well, that satisfies my curiosity (I suspected something similar)! Well, the 30-minute limit is totally unjust and you have good cause (seriously, 30 minutes...who does that?). :) I haven't played around with client-based IP address spoofing, but I wonder if that might help?

    Oh wait...this is androidtablets...AND I'm a MOD! I'd better be careful what I suggest! :eek:

    -Matt
  7. Fuganater
    Offline

    Fuganater Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    728
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Yep IP Spoofing is technically illegal unless your getting paid to be a WhiteHat Hacker. Which I'm pretty much sure no one here is...

    Thread closed.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

android tablet change mac address

,

can i change tablet mac id

,

change mac address on galaxy tab 3 10

,

change mac for my tablet

,

how to change mac address on galaxy tab

,

mac adresi sabit midir