Changing firmware

Discussion in 'Android Tablet Q&A' started by cire, Sep 15, 2011.

  1. cire

    cire Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Dubai
    Tablet / Device:
    GT-1000
    I'm a newbie on this things but I hope someone can tell me a couple of things. So here goes.

    I have a GT-1000 and purchased it from the middle east. I want to get rid of the arabic interface. Will using a firmware from a different region do this?

    Sent from my GT-P1000 using Android Tablet Forum
     
  2. DanU

    DanU Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Dallas
    Tablet / Device:
    WITSA91
    There is no option to change the language in your current firmware?
     
  3. cire

    cire Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Dubai
    Tablet / Device:
    GT-1000
    Hey DanU, I do have the option, but i want to remove some default programs from it. Also, every time I reset my tab, it always default to arabic, and in my case, I dont speak or read the language.

    Sent from my GT-P1000 using Android Tablet Forum
     
  4. DanU

    DanU Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Dallas
    Tablet / Device:
    WITSA91
    Is the device rooted? Sometimes you have to have rights to save/persist settings.
     
  5. pbrauer

    pbrauer Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,649
    Likes Received:
    561
    Trophy Points:
    312
    Location:
    Edina, MN USA
    Tablet / Device:
    HTC Thunderbolt, ViewSonic GTab, Huawei S7, Gentouch 78
    in answer to your basic question, ROMs are built on a basic concept of locale specific details, so a Middle Eastern device would reset to Arabic after full resets. A different ROM set would solve that basic problem, and would probably have different apps baked in.
     

Share This Page