Chrome denies Pasting yet IE doesn't. WHY?

Discussion in 'Site Comments & Suggestions' started by islandman, Apr 25, 2013.

  1. islandman

    islandman Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    UK
    Tablet / Device:
    Samsung Galaxy Tab 3 8"
    Could someone please explain to me why it is that if I see something on another website and want to bring it here, I Copy & Paste but the pasting never works, via Chrome, yet if I minimise this window and open IE, then I am able to paste here. Chrome denies pasting, yet IE doesn't.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  2. Traveller

    Traveller Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,275
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    460
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros MID9742, Dell Streak 5, Samsung Galaxy S4, Nexus 6
    Yep. The quick text box is in WYSIWYG mode by default on Chrome. You need to change the box to source mode to be able to paste. To do that you simply need to click the leftmost button on the toolbar, the button marked "A/A". You'll know you're in source mode when that button turns gray. As to why Chrome defaults to WYSIWYG, I don't know.
     
    • Like Like x 4
  3. islandman

    islandman Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    UK
    Tablet / Device:
    Samsung Galaxy Tab 3 8"

    I will do that and report back later, thanks
     
    • Like Like x 2
  4. Spider

    Spider Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    15,413
    Likes Received:
    1,784
    Trophy Points:
    1,000
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Tablet / Device:
    NOOK Tablet Stock NOOKcolor Rooted/Flashed Nexus 7 (2013) 32GB Stock
    • Like Like x 2
  5. islandman

    islandman Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    UK
    Tablet / Device:
    Samsung Galaxy Tab 3 8"
    I am just testing the advice given. Aim to paste:- (failed)
    Followed by clicking the A/A button on left :- GoTab 6 inch Android 4.0 Tablet with Google Play and 4GB Storage

    Well sod me!. I will now leave this site and return to see if it has remained as I would wish, or if I have to click A/A again.

    OK, so I will endevour to paste something without touching the A/A :- NO!
    Now with the A/A clicked :- https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/feature.html?ie=UTF8&docId=1000644603

    So that tells me that anytime I want to paste something, instead of going to IE to do it, by touching the A/A it will work. But I am wondering can this be customised so there is no need to click the A/a each time (not that it's a big deal), cause if it works on IE naturally, why not here?
     
    Last edited: Apr 25, 2013
    • Like Like x 2
  6. Traveller

    Traveller Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,275
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    460
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros MID9742, Dell Streak 5, Samsung Galaxy S4, Nexus 6
    Boat browser on a tablet by default sets the quick text box in source mode rather than WYSIWYG. As to the PC, I've searched and there's no way I know of to have the text box in source mode by default on Chrome. I haven't tested IE and won't bother either.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  7. islandman

    islandman Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    UK
    Tablet / Device:
    Samsung Galaxy Tab 3 8"
    I have to say that I only access this site via my laptop.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  8. Spider

    Spider Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    15,413
    Likes Received:
    1,784
    Trophy Points:
    1,000
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Tablet / Device:
    NOOK Tablet Stock NOOKcolor Rooted/Flashed Nexus 7 (2013) 32GB Stock
    You say that as if it's a bad thing.:rolleyes: That's the only way I access it as well.:cool:
     
    • Like Like x 2
  9. islandman

    islandman Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    UK
    Tablet / Device:
    Samsung Galaxy Tab 3 8"

    No, on the contrary, I thought Travellor was implying that HE accesses this site on his tablet only.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  10. Traveller

    Traveller Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,275
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    460
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros MID9742, Dell Streak 5, Samsung Galaxy S4, Nexus 6
    Then I misunderstood your post to some extent, since it seemed as if you were attempting to access the site using Chrome for Android as well as your laptop's browser. You will note however that after mentioning Boat Browser I do go back to talking about the PC.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  11. islandman

    islandman Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    UK
    Tablet / Device:
    Samsung Galaxy Tab 3 8"
    If there is/ was any misunderstanding, then it will be me. Not only am I new to many of these words used now I have a tablet, but I'm an old duffer, I would have said an old fart, but will probably be told off about saying that.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  12. Spider

    Spider Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    15,413
    Likes Received:
    1,784
    Trophy Points:
    1,000
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Tablet / Device:
    NOOK Tablet Stock NOOKcolor Rooted/Flashed Nexus 7 (2013) 32GB Stock
    I'm not going to touch that one.:p
     
    • Like Like x 2
  13. Saralee63

    Saralee63 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    USA
    Tablet / Device:
    AMPE A10 Quad Core

    hehe made me giggle
     

Share This Page