CM10 for Coby 8042

Discussion in 'Coby Generation 3 Development' started by vampirefo., Oct 5, 2012.

  1. vampirefo.

    vampirefo. Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3,828
    Likes Received:
    1,389
    Trophy Points:
    655
    Location:
    Huntington WV
    Tablet / Device:
    Leagoo Lead 1 ZTE OPEN C, Coby 7065, Coby 8042, Coby 9740
    This is a prerequisite post for CM10 for 8042.
    1. you need a sdcard
    2. you need to partition the sdcard
    3. sdcard needs to have three partitions, 1.fat 2 ext4 partitions
    4. you need to be rooted.
    5. you need cwm recovery installed.
    6. you need to have adb setup and working
    7. you need to determine which partition on sdcard is going to be used /system
    8. you need to determine which partition on sdcard is going to be used for /data
    9. the /system partition should be at least 500MB, I recommend 1024MB or 1GB
    10. the /data partition should be at least 1024MB I recommend 2048MB or 2GB can be larger

    AnTuTu bench test custom with sdcard unselected.
    [​IMG]

    Slideshow of CM10 pics
    ImageShack(TM) slideshow

    For Linux users just use gparted to partition the sdcard.

    For windows users below is a guide, you would need to add one more partition than this guide has, but none the less it shows you what to do and what tool to use.
    http://forum.xda-developers.com/wiki/SD_card_partitioning

    Once you partitioned your sdcard, boot into recovery

    You should make a backup before you install cm10.

    adb shell

    mount -t ext4 /dev/block/mmcblk0p3 /system

    mount -t ext4 /dev/block/mmcblk0p2 /data

    busybox df -h

    now look at your Used Available for /dev/block/mmcblk0p3 and /dev/block/mmcblk0p2

    the partition mount as /data should be larger than the one mounted by /system.

    if /system partition is larger then umount both

    umount /dev/block/mmcblk0p3

    umount /dev/block/mmcblk0p2

    then switch mount points

    mount -t ext4 /dev/block/mmcblk0p2 /system

    mount -t ext4 /dev/block/mmcblk0p3 /data

    now /data partition should be larger than /system partition

    there will be two boot.img one is for /data mounted on /dev/block/mmcblk0p2

    the other is for /data mounted on /dev/block/mmcblk0p3

    so you need to know where your /data is mounted before flashing boot.img

    If your /data is mounted on /dev/block/mmcblk0p3 use this boot.img

    cm10_8042_p3.zip

    If your /data is mounted on /dev/block/mmcblk0p2 use this boot.img

    cm10_8042_p2.zip

    This is CM10 for Coby 8042

    http://www.4shared.com/file/btXrUFrA/1jb8042_system.htmll

    To install, you have to already done the prerequisites, now choose your boot.img either cm10_8042_p2.zip or cm10_8042_p3.zip place it on your sdcard, now download 1jb8042_system.tar place it on your sdcard, reboot to recovery.

    in mount options on cw recovery choose mount /sdcard, format /cache mount /cache
    adb shell
    mount -t ext4 /dev/block/mmcblk0p3 /system
    or
    mount -t ext4 /dev/block/mmcblk0p2 /system

    depending on which boot.img you choose.

    busybox tar -xvf /sdcard/1jb8042_system.tar

    once finished close terminal choose install zip from sdcard
    choose the boot.img you downloaded install then reboot.


    Once cm10 is installed and working you can then add scripts to run as dual boot.

    I run dual boot with CM9 and CM10

    You need to already have CM9 installed

    to do this you need two scripts one goes in /system/bin on CM9 and CM10, you also need to create a folder on your sdcard called.

    dual_boot

    inside the dual-boot folder place cm9 and cm10 boot.img

    then download these scripts place reboot-cm9 into cm10 /system/bin

    place reboot-cm10 into cm9 /system/bin chmod 755 both.

    then if you want to switch OS open terminal

    su

    reboot-cm10

    or

    reboot-cm9

    http://www.mediafire.com/?bn2hsl5yp5hxjt2

    if you are using cm10_8042_p3.zip then you need to edit reboot-cm10 script and add a 1 to boot_ds.img every time you see boot_ds.img change it to 1boot_ds.img then save.



    Note this cm10 hasn't been updated since first posted, it doesn't include 4.2
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 29, 2014
    • Like Like x 10
  2. vampirefo.

    vampirefo. Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3,828
    Likes Received:
    1,389
    Trophy Points:
    655
    Location:
    Huntington WV
    Tablet / Device:
    Leagoo Lead 1 ZTE OPEN C, Coby 7065, Coby 8042, Coby 9740
    Well I am off, wont be back til tomorrow, my son's football game is away, anyway I have tried to make this as easy as possible.
     
  3. probbiethe1

    probbiethe1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,838
    Likes Received:
    139
    Trophy Points:
    310
    Location:
    Gilbert, Arizona
    Wow this looks awesome. I picked up a Coby 8042 just because you are the developer for it you are great. I am going to try and setup dual boot on my tablet here in a little bit and see how it works.
     
  4. jcruckus

    jcruckus Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    McAllen, TX
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros MID9742
    vampirefo, thank you for releasing this.. now I have a super loaded question, how could I port or build this for the 9742? I have a windows and ubuntu server, but know almost nothing about building or porting a rom; I've always just been a beta tester, never went into developing...

    I know the 9742 has the system resources available to run CM10 well...and thats all I know.. but I found this..
    http://www.slatedroid.com/topic/39064-building-cm10-for-a10-devices/

    what I'd love to see is a CM10 build with the features built into the Galaxy Tab 2 for specific stylus use and multi-tasking with pop-up windows
     
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2012
  5. vampirefo.

    vampirefo. Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3,828
    Likes Received:
    1,389
    Trophy Points:
    655
    Location:
    Huntington WV
    Tablet / Device:
    Leagoo Lead 1 ZTE OPEN C, Coby 7065, Coby 8042, Coby 9740

    That thread has all the info you need to build cm10 from source. I have already done that plus made changes required for coby, so you could port from my 8042, or you can build from source.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  6. DAGMAN5

    DAGMAN5 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros MID7042
    It will be in the coby 7042? thanks....
     
  7. vampirefo.

    vampirefo. Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3,828
    Likes Received:
    1,389
    Trophy Points:
    655
    Location:
    Huntington WV
    Tablet / Device:
    Leagoo Lead 1 ZTE OPEN C, Coby 7065, Coby 8042, Coby 9740
    Long story short, no not at this time.
     
  8. Chance0066

    Chance0066 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    United States
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros 8042-4
    vampirefo, are you using the overclocking feature of CM on your 8042? I saw your post about overclocking using the other method, but this seems a little safer for me to try. Just wondering if it is functional on this device.
     
  9. vampirefo.

    vampirefo. Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3,828
    Likes Received:
    1,389
    Trophy Points:
    655
    Location:
    Huntington WV
    Tablet / Device:
    Leagoo Lead 1 ZTE OPEN C, Coby 7065, Coby 8042, Coby 9740
    No I don't overclock on this Rom. I like the battery life and smoothness of running from this Rom, So havent used any OC options.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  10. Chance0066

    Chance0066 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    United States
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros 8042-4
    Good to know, I'll be checking it out when I get home this evening. Thanks for everything you do for Coby devices.
     
  11. Chance0066

    Chance0066 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    United States
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros 8042-4
    Is this just on my end, or is your link for the .tar file down?
     
    • Like Like x 2
  12. vampirefo.

    vampirefo. Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3,828
    Likes Received:
    1,389
    Trophy Points:
    655
    Location:
    Huntington WV
    Tablet / Device:
    Leagoo Lead 1 ZTE OPEN C, Coby 7065, Coby 8042, Coby 9740
    I updated the link.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  13. Chance0066

    Chance0066 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    United States
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros 8042-4
    When trying to mount the mmcblk0p3 file to /system I'm getting an error that there is no such file or directory. I'm really just learning these systems. Troubleshooting it at the moment, but I thought I would see if you were available to advise. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Edit: Ok, I officially don't have a mmcblk0p3 to mount... I have mmcblk0, mmcblk0p1, mmcblk0p2, mmcblk0p4, mmcblk0p5, and mmcblk0p6.
     
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2012
  14. vampirefo.

    vampirefo. Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3,828
    Likes Received:
    1,389
    Trophy Points:
    655
    Location:
    Huntington WV
    Tablet / Device:
    Leagoo Lead 1 ZTE OPEN C, Coby 7065, Coby 8042, Coby 9740
    How many partitions do you have on your sdcard? You only want 3.
     
  15. Chance0066

    Chance0066 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    United States
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros 8042-4
    I have 3, just like you instructed. I set the FAT32 as a primary and the two ext4 as logical, not sure if that was correct or not.

    Edit: Also... I'm using Shinisuryu's dump as the stock ROM for my device, had some issues previously, and hadn't made a back up before.

    Edit2: Ok, reformatted the two ext4 partitions as primary's and that solved the problem concerning not having a mmcblk0p3 file. Now I'm getting and Invalid Argument error when I try to mount it though.
    Code:
    mount
    rootfs on / type rootfs (rw)
    tmpfs on /dev type tmpfs (rw,nosuid,relatime,mode=755)
    devpts on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,relatime,mode=600,ptmxmode=000)
    proc on /proc type proc (rw,relatime)
    sysfs on /sys type sysfs (rw,relatime)
    /dev/block/nandh on /cache type ext4 (rw,nodev,noatime,nodiratime,user_xattr,bar
    rier=1,data=ordered)
     
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2012

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
cm 10 coby
,
cm 10 kyos mid8042 download
,

cm10 for coby 8042

,
cm10 for coby 8042-4
,
cm10 mid8042
,
coby 8042
,
coby kyros mid8042 proc
,

como instalar cm10 for coby 8042

,
kyroa mid 7042 500mb tam only
,
xda developers forum coby kyros 8042