Cobt Kyros Vendor ID

Discussion in 'Coby Tablets' started by booda3000, Mar 17, 2011.

  1. booda3000

    booda3000 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Tablet / Device:
    coby kyros mid 7015, droid x
    I'm trying to setup adb on Ubuntu 10.10.
    I need to insert the Vendor ID for the device. (The Colby Kyros)
    Anyone know anything about that?
     
  2. billquinn1

    billquinn1 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Columbia SC
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby 7015
    This is a useful description of the process.
    [HOW-TO]Set up Android SDK/ADB/Fastboot on Ubuntu Linux - xda-developers
    It does not describe how to figure out the vendor id so...
    steps:
    1) plug your phone into the usb bus on your system. does not need to be in application debug mode yet...

    2) verify that you can see the phone by using 'lsusb', e.g.:
    $ lsusb
    Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
    Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
    Bus 001 Device 002: ID 0bb4:0c02 High Tech Computer Corp.
    Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
    ...
    the line "ID 0bb4:0c02 High Tech Computer Corp." is my HTC phone but the idea is the same. the rest is other stuff on the usb busses. ignore it.

    3) the 4 digit value 18d1 is the Vendor ID of my Coby. yours should be same. whatever it is, this is the value you need to use in your udev rule.
     
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2011
  3. jackpotcoyote

    jackpotcoyote Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros 7015
    I have been using the ADK on linux for a while now and never once has it asked me for a vendor id. What are you trying to do?
     
  4. billquinn1

    billquinn1 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Columbia SC
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby 7015
    Don't know what ADK is but when you set up adb you have to enter it in udev rules 50 or 51 file. if you don't, when you enter $adb devices it gives some error with ??????? in it.
     
  5. l_n

    l_n Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    99
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    TN, USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Mid7015
    You can set adb to run suid root...
    Code:
    chmod 4755 adb
    chown root:root adb
    Sent from my HT_PAD1051 using Tapatalk
     
  6. booda3000

    booda3000 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Tablet / Device:
    coby kyros mid 7015, droid x
    @l_n,
    What Vendor ID #,for the Coby Kyros, are you using in your udev rules?
     
  7. l_n

    l_n Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    99
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    TN, USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Mid7015
    You don't need it if adb is started as root. After changing the permissions, run 'adb stop-server' then 'adb start-server'.

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
     
  8. booda3000

    booda3000 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Tablet / Device:
    coby kyros mid 7015, droid x
    ./adb devices shows my Droid x, but not my Colby Kyros.

    Any thoughts on this?
     
  9. l_n

    l_n Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    99
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    TN, USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Mid7015
    Sorry, that should have been kill-server, not stop-server.

    Sent from my HT_PAD1051 using Tapatalk
     

Share This Page