coby 8042-4 black screen fastboot problem

Discussion in 'Coby Generation 3' started by Ricky405jr, May 9, 2013.

  1. Ricky405jr

    Ricky405jr Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Suriname
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros MID8042
    So I think I have a big problem with my coby.

    It started as this, I flashed CM9 on it. On boot bootanimation appeared but then had a black screen no light as the tab was off.
    So I searched and landed here http://www.androidtablets.net/forum...t/46413-cm9-coby-7042-a-2.html#post240057then I flashed that bootloader [My biggest mistake!].
    Then when turned on or reboot, just got a black screen!. Mean lights are on and background black!.
    And now I can't seem to see anything on it, I have a feeling that it boots in cwm but can't see a thing.
    So then it was time for adb that connects OK with device.
    Tried fastboot, but that can't connect with my device when I do fastboot devices nothing!.


    Is there chances of fixing my Coby 8042-4 ?
     
  2. vampirefo.

    vampirefo. Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3,828
    Likes Received:
    1,389
    Trophy Points:
    655
    Location:
    Huntington WV
    Tablet / Device:
    Leagoo Lead 1 ZTE OPEN C, Coby 7065, Coby 8042, Coby 9740
    You shouldn't flash a 7042 bootloader on any other device except a 7042.

    Sent from my SPH-D710 using Android Phone
     
    • Like Like x 2
  3. vampirefo.

    vampirefo. Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3,828
    Likes Received:
    1,389
    Trophy Points:
    655
    Location:
    Huntington WV
    Tablet / Device:
    Leagoo Lead 1 ZTE OPEN C, Coby 7065, Coby 8042, Coby 9740
    You would need to restore your own bootloader.

    Sent from my SPH-D710 using Android Phone
     
    • Like Like x 2
  4. Ricky405jr

    Ricky405jr Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Suriname
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros MID8042
    Yes that's the problem I'm having I have my dump but how to restore?
     
  5. Ricky405jr

    Ricky405jr Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Suriname
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros MID8042
    Do you have fastboot drivers for windows 7 I think thats why fastboot not working or could you share your fastboot drivers?
     
  6. Ricky405jr

    Ricky405jr Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Suriname
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros MID8042
    So I think I have 2 options : 1. find a way to make fastboot work. 2. find a way that I can mount options format /data /system /cache

    mount /sdcard /cache /system with adb cos I can't see cwm !

    Update when I do adb reboot bootloader devices reboots in cwm I think good! but I can;t see nothing black screen!.
    when it's already rebooted in cwm I know the first option highlighted was 'reboot system now' so when I press power button it does reboot ! so now how will I do without seeing anything. I;m blind!
     
  7. vampirefo.

    vampirefo. Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3,828
    Likes Received:
    1,389
    Trophy Points:
    655
    Location:
    Huntington WV
    Tablet / Device:
    Leagoo Lead 1 ZTE OPEN C, Coby 7065, Coby 8042, Coby 9740
    I am at work on cell phone, I don't use windows so I don't have any window drivers.
    How to flash bootloader has been explained already, you would need to boot into cw recovery and use adb to flash bootloader.

    Sent from my SPH-D710 using Android Phone
     
    • Like Like x 2
  8. Ricky405jr

    Ricky405jr Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Suriname
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros MID8042
    Yeh I know I've read and searched and googled like hell!

    So if your free could you help me out with this step cos I can't see on tab but I have a feeling it boots into cwm .

    "use cwm navigate to mount options format /data /system /cache


    mount /sdcard /cache /system"

    I mean if you can guide me trough those directory's ? or some pics would do too? please
    :(
     
  9. vampirefo.

    vampirefo. Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3,828
    Likes Received:
    1,389
    Trophy Points:
    655
    Location:
    Huntington WV
    Tablet / Device:
    Leagoo Lead 1 ZTE OPEN C, Coby 7065, Coby 8042, Coby 9740
    I can't do any of that on a cell phone, and a 10 minute break.

    Sent from my SPH-D710 using Android Phone
     
    • Like Like x 2
  10. Ricky405jr

    Ricky405jr Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Suriname
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros MID8042
    No I meant if your free if your at home and had a rest. I'll not hassle only if I get my tab working again step by step

    [Ooo 10 min break ]
     
  11. vampirefo.

    vampirefo. Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3,828
    Likes Received:
    1,389
    Trophy Points:
    655
    Location:
    Huntington WV
    Tablet / Device:
    Leagoo Lead 1 ZTE OPEN C, Coby 7065, Coby 8042, Coby 9740
    • Like Like x 2
  12. Ricky405jr

    Ricky405jr Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Suriname
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros MID8042
    Heyyyyyyyyyyyyy Succesfulllllll


    but can't touuch OMG your a Genius!!! So I think I hav to replace my drivers heh
     
  13. Ricky405jr

    Ricky405jr Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Suriname
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros MID8042
    Update:

    So now I see also can't run su in adb shell gives Permission denied with $ can't get #
    And I must change touch drivers to give permissions.
    I think something went wrong here cos without memcard can't boot maybe it's still mounted heh
     
  14. vampirefo.

    vampirefo. Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3,828
    Likes Received:
    1,389
    Trophy Points:
    655
    Location:
    Huntington WV
    Tablet / Device:
    Leagoo Lead 1 ZTE OPEN C, Coby 7065, Coby 8042, Coby 9740
    sounds like you need to root the tablet.
     
  15. Ricky405jr

    Ricky405jr Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Suriname
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros MID8042
    hmmm do you mean I must root it again? In first I though of that but didn't know I can root again.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

fastboot for 7042d

,

tablet has black screen coby