Coby Kyros 10.1" with Android 2.2

jayslater

Oct 18, 2011
Hello

This is my first time visiting the forums. I am expecting my new Coby 10.1" Tablet to be delivered tomorrow. This will be my 1st experience with a tablet, let alone one without a Google base installed.
What should I expect?
Any tips I should take into account immediately?
Thanks in advance
Jay

Pickupman66

Oct 2, 2011
Jay,

First off, Good tablet. Glad you came here. I have had mine two weeks. many of the other guys here a bit longer but they are pretty decent devices for the money. I have a little android experience (rooting my phone etc) so when I got mine, I knew a little of what to expect. that said, It was an OK device out of the box. it was a bit glitchy and frankly was lacking. Immediately I rooted mine and got the android market on it. that was good, now I had access to all my goodies, but after reading the technical threads here, it wasnt good enough for me. SSSSOOOOO... I helped (just in testing stuff) one of the guys here Lfom in writing some custom firmwares (operating systems) for the Kyros. we had a very fast running Froyo operating system on it and it was really nice. Very Stable, Decent on the battery, but we saw that other Kyros were running Gingerbread. so Lfom found a way to bring Gingerbread to the Kyros MID1024. It was really just released this past weekend and I can tell you, it makes my Kyros rock. it is VERY easy to install the new OS, but you need to have an external Micro SD to do it. I used my 16gb one I bought for my kyros.

With the Gingerbread roms, you can do the Google market, Skype, netflix, and all the other goodies you want. It was so worth the nervousness of upgrading the firmware. best part, is that the Instructions on the Coby site for updating their firmware are easy to follow and run the same as putting on a custom one.

here is how:

1. find the ROM you want from the Gen 2 technical pages (or the Developer pages when they are made) here on this forum.