Coby Kyros 7015 4GB Wifi Problem

Discussion in 'Coby Generation 1' started by keebz, Nov 25, 2010.

  1. keebz

    keebz Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    NULL
    Sup guys, recently purchased this Coby Kyros 7015 4gb model and right out of the case after setup Wifi would not connect. I've tried factory reset but that does not work either. I was wondering if there is anyway for me to replace the wifi apk within the system and start over?
     
  2. keebz

    keebz Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    NULL
    Also was wondering if there is anyway possible to put clockworkmod onto this tablet.
     
  3. mkrowkis

    mkrowkis Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    NULL
    I too was experiencing issues connecting to my WiF when i got my tab (an x5a). I manually entered my network ID and password. It didn't show up or connect after entering it in but then i turned the tab off and back on and it automatically connected :) This may or may not help but I just wanted to share my experience and hope it helps!
     
  4. keebz

    keebz Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    NULL
    ive tried that avenue as well, it scans it but wont connect. Says connection remembered but won't connect no matter what i do.
     
  5. canuck1

    canuck1 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Toronto
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros 7" tablet
    Just got my Coby Kyros 7015 also and have WiFi connection problems entering my password. My modem Dlink shows up as secured with WPA/WPA2Psk whatever that means
    however my laptop connects just fine. I tried all combinations of my password but no cigar..have to call the Dlink people I guess...RATTS !
     
  6. catb

    catb Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    ON Canada
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros mid7015
    I'm basically in the same boat with my Coby Kyros 7015!
    I enter my password and it shows connect with a fair signal then the minute i exit the settings and try to connect to aldiko and try to download books it says my network connection is not available, then I check out my settings for wifi again and it says my d link is not in range!
    Does anyone have any solutions for this?
    I've already installed the update. I also have connected no problem at a wifi freezone spot.
     
  7. Vernon17

    Vernon17 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Center of Utah in the USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Treo Pro for now
    I have had issues with my Kyros mid 7015. I will be surfing at home on the wifi and suddenly the next page wont load. I have to power down the unit and reboot before the wifi will work again.
    I am using Comcast and my router is a SMC brand.
    At work I could not get it to connect either. All the stuff they have there is Cisco.
     
  8. geeyes

    geeyes Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyro MID 7105
    I have same problem with MID 7015. Tried everything including update, reset, restart, etc. but no luck. I have two wireless routers at home one with ABGN and one with ABG. Tried to call Coby customer service, but long wait no response
     
  9. perfsfam

    perfsfam Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros MD7015-4G
    I too cannot connect to my wireless network at my home. I got in touch with the Coby customer support-it was a 20 minute wait for a 5 second answer-CALL YOUR ISP. I called them and spent another 40 minutes changing every security setting trying to get the device to connect. I thought it was the device-took it to a hotspot-I was able to get right on. I took off the security settings and still nothing. They told me at Coby you need atleast 56Kbps and 802.11 b/g wireless. Any techys out there that has any suggestions???????
     
  10. BKenney

    BKenney Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Florida
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros MID7015
    I have a Linksys router password protected using a wep personal pin. I was able to connect fine out of the box and after the update... no problem.

    I've noticed the Wi-Fi antenna in the kyros is weak though...

    Sent from my MID7015 using Android Tablet Forum App
     
  11. teegunn

    teegunn Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    NULL
    Wifi seems weak and slow in these units. And it drops the connection frequently. It is what it is I guess.
     
  12. gsd1214

    gsd1214 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Toronto
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros 7015
    the unit will not connect to a WPA2/PSK...
    if its WEP, it will connect
     
  13. appl

    appl Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Tablet / Device:
    Kyros 7015
    Ok so I had the same problem, but I think I finally figured it out. I believe the issue is occurring due to the tablet detecting a different type of security protocol (WPA/WEP) then you are actually using. I did the following to change mine.

    First I went to Setting ---> Wireless & Network Settings ---> Wi-Fi Settings ---> THEN PRESS AND HOLD DOWN ON THE NAME OF YOUR NETWORK ---> Change Password ---> Change the security from "Auto" to the actual type you employ in your network. Mine connected right away. (Oh also I hid my SSID and rebooted my router, but that didn't work)
     
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2011
  14. Sue7M3

    Sue7M3 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    The Big Apple
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color (Rooted)
    Please use the search feature and read the stickies. The info to do so is all there. Enjoy your tablet!
     
  15. Sue7M3

    Sue7M3 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    The Big Apple
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color (Rooted)
    I have a Netgear router and have had no problems. Sounds like the DLink router is crap. You might try buying another brand.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
changing security settings on a coby
,
coby kiros tablet wi fi
,
coby kyros cannot connect to wifi
,
coby kyros no wifi
,

coby kyros tablet problems

,
coby kyros wifi not in range
,

coby kyros wifi problems

,
coby tablet not getting wifi
,
coby tablet suddenly stopped connecting to wifi
,

coby tablet wifi problems

,

coby tablet wifi setup

,

coby tablet wont connect to wifi

,

kyros tablet wifi problem

,
problems connecting coby kyros tablet to wifi
,
set date time coby kyros 7015 4gb
,
set time coby kyros tablet
,
why does coby tablet wifi say not in range
,
why wont my wifi connect to my coby kyros tablet
,
wifi part of coby kyros tablet
,
wifikyrostablet