Coby KYROS MID8024-4G When will it be available?

djx2000

Apr 27, 2011
Hello, I wonder if anyone knows when the Coby KYROS MID8024-4G will be available?

How do you like the Coby brand? Most reviews seem to be favorable and there price will fit my budget.

djx2000

djx2000

Apr 27, 2011
Thanks driggs, do you think the 8024 will be a good choice for a first tablet? I don't plan to watch a lot of video. Will I be able to link it to my Linux network?

driggs

Apr 22, 2011
I am new to the tablet game myself djx. I just ordered my 7015. I was not considering the 8" screen tablet mainly because I want something smaller (I am replacing a dead PDA). I went with a first generation Coby over the 7024 after some research and advice I received on this board. From what I understand, the 7015 was made by one manufacturer and the 7024/7025/8024/1024 are by another. This is not a big deal, but since the 7015 is VERY hackable and (at the time I ordered) some users were having problems hacking/rooting the 7024. Also, there are some complaints on another thread about some problems with the headphone port on the 7024, but it appears Coby is making good on replacements. With the better spec sheet (proc, mem, multi-touch screen, Android 2.2 out of the box), I probably should have ordered the 7024 and waited for the hacks, but I am just not a patient person. Overall, I think the 8024 will be a great device for you, but it will probably take some time before the hacks start rolling out - which might or might not matter to you...

As for adding it into your Linux network, I don't see where that will be a problem. I have not heard of any Wifi issues with the 7024 or 1024, and I know for a fact that there are other Linux people on here besides us.

djx2000

Apr 27, 2011