coby kyros

Discussion in 'Coby Generation 1' started by yezzy, Dec 27, 2010.

  1. yezzy

    yezzy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    . my apps market is down, so i went to the coby website and downloaded a file called update.zip and followed the directions of this video and now when i start it, it says "coby" and turns off. i went back to the coby website and found out i had installed an update for the MID7015 when i have the MID7005.... any ideas on how to fix this?????
    :(
     
  2. Ridgeland

    Ridgeland Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Ridgeland, WI, USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby MID7015-4G
    I don't have a MID7005 so this is just a thought but in the video they boot holding in two buttons and get to a menu with options. Can you do that? Any useful options there?
     
  3. yezzy

    yezzy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    no. i installed the wrong software and now ithink its bricked.... any help on how 2 un-brick it??
     
  4. Ridgeland

    Ridgeland Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Ridgeland, WI, USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby MID7015-4G
    I think there is hope if you get a screen that says "Coby".
    I was hoping the double button boot would get you to a menu to reset the unit to "as shipped".
    Here is Coby's contact for help page
    COBY - Contact
     
  5. salzybaby

    salzybaby Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    Location:
    West Virginia
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros MID7015
    Have tried the small reset button on the back of the device? Haven't tried mine yet. It should take everything back to factory reset.

    Sent from my MID7015 using Android Tablet Forum App
     
  6. Ridgeland

    Ridgeland Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Ridgeland, WI, USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby MID7015-4G
    I have used the small reset button several times when my MID7015 froze up. Once trying to power down after the second popup it hung - for hours so I took it out of the case and used the stylus to push reset. It does not do a factory reset just kills the current boot. There is an option in "Settings" for factory reset but you cannot get there until after a successful boot.
    So I just tested my MID7015. Hold in the "return" button and keep holding it in. Press the "power on" button and hold both in for a long long time. First the boot info shows, then the Coby screen shows --- keep holding both buttons in --- then an android and ! sign appear - now at last you can let go of both the buttons.
    Here do a simple return and I get a menu.
    The options are:
    reboot system now
    apply sdcard: update.zip
    wipe data/factory reset
    wipe cache partition
    change first logo
    change second logo
    The "menu key" steps down the list
    I don't need to do it but I think go down to "wipe data/factory reset" is what is needed here.
     
  7. yezzy

    yezzy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    ive done this, and ive also found that i installed the wrong driver(mid7015), so ithink i have 2 re-install the mid7005 driver to get it working again
     
  8. yezzy

    yezzy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    does anyone know where ican get the original mid7005 firmware?
     
  9. yezzy

    yezzy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    ijust called, its blocked, do you have any other suggestions?
     
  10. Cutty1

    Cutty1 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    Location:
    Canada
    Tablet / Device:
    7" mid Tablet (Dreambook)
  11. bronx_kyros

    bronx_kyros Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    New York
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros MID7015
    Did you try reset?
     
Similar Threads
  1. kreichert
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    1,243
  2. pjakubiec
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    1,085
  3. pajocos
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    2,577
  4. Untouchable
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    338
  5. johngod
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    1,965
Loading...

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

coby kyros mid7011 firmware

,
coby kyros mid7011 firmware update
,
coby kyros mid7011 jeally bean update
,
coby kyros mid7011 os upgrade
,
coby kyros wipe cache
,
coby kyros wipe cache partition
,
coby mid7011 firmware
,
coby mid7011 firmware upgrade
,
coby tablet mid7011 firmware download
,
download latest software for coby kyros 7011
,
firmware upgrade coby kyros mid7011
,
how to update my coby kyros mid7011 tablet software
,
update zip of coby kyros mid7011
,
wiping cache partition coby kyros