COBY MID 7125 Question

JAKE381

Dec 24, 2011
I'm new to tablets, apps, and somewhat behind the times with this technology.

I'm coming from years of using a Toshiba Pocket PC, basically it was like a palm pilot.

I'm not if this is the right place to start, but it seemed to be the closest to what I have.

On my 7125 model there is a Calendar app already loaded. Well when I attempt to open the app it takes me to a screen that wants to add an exchange account.

I established a gmail account, and yet I'm not sure if it wants me to enter my gmail account information (username and password). Below that is a box that has the wording "send email from this account by default". I've checked the box, and after hitting next it takes me to a screen that has the wording Server settings.

In the Domain name it has the first part of my gmail e-mail, not the @gmail.com. It also has placed a slash in front of my name. The password is encrypted (dots), and the server has gmail.com in it.

Below that are two boxes, the top one is checked, it states "use secure connection (SSL), below that is an unchecked box that says "accept all SSL certificates.

When I hit next I get a message that states "Set up could not finish, Unable to open connection to server".

What am I missing, or doing wrong?

I would like to use my tablet as a calendar, track my tasks, and contacts. I currently use Microsoft Outlook for that at work, and would if possible to somehow sync outlook to my tablet so I can continue to use both. If possible.

I would appreciate any assistance, and I might need to be walked through this slowly.

Thank you in advance.

budcurts

Jan 1, 2012