Coby MID8042: Stuck on Coby Logo

Discussion in 'Coby Generation 3 Development' started by spade0824, Apr 29, 2015.

  1. spade0824

    spade0824 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    4
    i dont have system dump backup so thats why i cant restore it. is there any way to unbrick my tab??
     
  2. spade0824

    spade0824 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    4
    I have cwm recovery then a flash systemdump from other member using adb but it still cant boot.
     
  3. Traveller

    Traveller Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,277
    Likes Received:
    878
    Trophy Points:
    460
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros MID9742, Dell Streak 5, Samsung Galaxy S4, Nexus 6
    Unless you had USB debugging enabled on the tablet, you're probably going to have to try and find a LiveSuite ROM to get your tablet functional. If you have CWM installed and not just the stock recovery, install a custom ROM from the forum.
     
  4. spade0824

    spade0824 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    4
    i already install the 8042 mobiz v2. but it stock on coby logo also. my tab bricked because i flash the dsboot.img uploaded by vampirefo. i change d boot.img using adb but nothings happen.
     
  5. spade0824

    spade0824 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    4
    how can i change d boot.img?? can i change it using cwm??pls give me a flashable.zip of it. tnx for d help
     
  6. kevinthefixer

    kevinthefixer Member Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2014
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    90
    Location:
    Arizona
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros MID-9742-8
    Flashing a custom ROM or a Nandroid should overwrite your bad boot.img if it is bad.

    Try formatting /system, /data, and /cache in CWM, and re-flashing the ROM, or look for system dumps on this forum. And do a lot of reading, anything you find that might apply to your problem.

    As always, make sure your battery is up before doing anything.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. spade0824

    spade0824 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    4
    i install cm9 and it works. my problem now is a touch driver. can u give me a folder of vendor?or how can i fix it??i dont have a backup of my system dump.
     
  8. Traveller

    Traveller Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,277
    Likes Received:
    878
    Trophy Points:
    460
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros MID9742, Dell Streak 5, Samsung Galaxy S4, Nexus 6
    Use one of the other system dumps we have and use its vendor files. Be aware that this will be a trial and error process and that in the end none of the dumps may work.
     
  9. kevinthefixer

    kevinthefixer Member Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2014
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    90
    Location:
    Arizona
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros MID-9742-8
    I hope you mean that none are guaranteed to work!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. spade0824

    spade0824 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    4
    how can i take d vendor files oj system dumps. what will be d process??

    can u teach me how to do it??
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 1, 2015
  11. Traveller

    Traveller Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,277
    Likes Received:
    878
    Trophy Points:
    460
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros MID9742, Dell Streak 5, Samsung Galaxy S4, Nexus 6
    I meant to say "may", and edited my post. :)

    @spade0824: Look in the Mobiz v2 thread. How it's done is explained there.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. vampirefo.

    vampirefo. Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3,828
    Likes Received:
    1,389
    Trophy Points:
    655
    Location:
    Huntington WV
    Tablet / Device:
    Leagoo Lead 1 ZTE OPEN C, Coby 7065, Coby 8042, Coby 9740
    As always you should have made a backup, you should flash 8042_Mobiz_V.2 not ds version, ds is for sdcard booting.

    Had you made a backup, you would have your correct kernel and vendor folder that could be used with all the 8042 roms, now you have to do it the hardway trying to find the kernel and files you need from users who not only did things the right way, but took the time and effort to make and upload their files for others to use.

    Anyway good luck to you.

    Sent from my Venue 8 3830 using Tapatalk
     
  13. spade0824

    spade0824 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    4
    what if i already installed that rom but d screen cant touch??i have no systemdump backup. what am i suppost to do to fix it??
     
  14. vampirefo.

    vampirefo. Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3,828
    Likes Received:
    1,389
    Trophy Points:
    655
    Location:
    Huntington WV
    Tablet / Device:
    Leagoo Lead 1 ZTE OPEN C, Coby 7065, Coby 8042, Coby 9740
    You have to search through available dumps and test the files and hope it works on your tablet, Coby released at least 3 different versions of this tablet, so finding a match isn't 100%.

    sent from my kingSing T1 via taptalk
     
  15. spade0824

    spade0824 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    4
    thank you for the help. i already restored my tab.
     
    • Like Like x 1

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

coby mid9742 stuck on boot