coby wont restart in recovery

Discussion in 'Coby Generation 1 Technical' started by xxkhbxx, Apr 6, 2011.

  1. xxkhbxx

    xxkhbxx Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i followed directions to a TEE on my 7015 and im using the terminal method followed all of the steps and when i reboot recovery it just starts out into the regualar recovery.. plz help thank you all
     
  2. xxkhbxx

    xxkhbxx Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Please someone help. I'm trying to do it for my 67 yr old dad and want him to have the best experience. Thank you
     
  3. boddah4

    boddah4 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Michigan
    I would try to help but I do not know what you mean by "reboo recovery" and "regular recovery."
     
  4. ghost911

    ghost911 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    power on and press back button...
     
  5. xxkhbxx

    xxkhbxx Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    When I do all the steps in terminal. I do reboot recovery to boot into clockwork recovery it doesn't. It just boots up into the regular android recovery. From there I can't flash gapps etc..
     
  6. boddah4

    boddah4 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Michigan
    This should work. I make sure I am holding down the back/silver button before turning the power on.
     
  7. xxkhbxx

    xxkhbxx Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Well when I do restart I get the triangle exclamation picture then I hit the back button and it loads up to android recovery. But ill try your method when I get home
     
  8. WhiteWhiskers

    WhiteWhiskers Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I think I know what's wrong because it happened to my 7015 after I reverted back to stock and then rooted a second time.
    http://www.androidtablets.net/forum...-using-update-7015a-step-step-process-10.html
    In case the link doesn't work here is the solution, "If it reverts to stock recovery, you need to rename or delete /system/etc/install-recovery.sh. That script detects changes to the recovery partition and overwrites them. After you delete that script and install recovery.img, it wil be permanent."

    So after you flash the ClockworkMod recovery file and make all the other changes, make sure you rename or delete the install-recovery.sh file
     
  9. xxkhbxx

    xxkhbxx Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I looked and all I have in that folder is install-recovery.sh.bak
     
  10. xxkhbxx

    xxkhbxx Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    What should I do. I've rooted two of my android phones in the past and this I can't figure out. I mean the terminal is taking the commands with no errors so why isn't it working! ;(
     
  11. xxkhbxx

    xxkhbxx Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Anyone? Please?
     
  12. AeroToxin

    AeroToxin Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    In my tablet
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros MID 7015
    Here's what I did to install clockworkmod recovery on my tablet. In the terminal emulator, I put in these commands:
    SU
    mv /system/etc/install-recovery.sh /system/etc/install-recovery.sh.bak
    flash_image recovery /sdcard/recovery.img
    reboot recovery

    I did that twice now, and it worked both times.
    (I got these commands from a tutorial video on youtube, so I dont take credit for them)
     
    • Like Like x 2
  13. Orutanga

    Orutanga Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros 7015
    I am looking for help I have somehow enabled the fast boot on my Kyros and can not get into the Clockwork mod. I have tried the install-recovery.sh but I have no such file at all. I have looked over and over again and have tried installing the recovery.img twice now to try to fix this problem but each time I reboot into recovery I get the blue txt stating the device has entered fastboot mode. Can some one please help me get out of fastboot mode.
     
  14. 4bddn

    4bddn Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    i have this same exact problem. any ideas?
     
  15. cadiman

    cadiman Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Cleveland Ohio
    Tablet / Device:
    coby kyros 7015 , Toshiba Thrive
    If you used the link here for rooting make sure you put the space in.... recovery /sdcard. There was a
    misprint and correction in that thread. ( second to the last input command )



    Also it will not work with a 7015A. At least it didn`t for me It was an older post ment for the 7015.

    I know what you are talking about "triangle with android bot. Then it will just come up in reboot. The good thing is nothing bad happens!

    Find out if you have a 7015A before going any further. I used the root method on youtube. It is a bit different.
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2012

Share This Page