CWR not working on my nook

Discussion in 'Nook Color Technical' started by Seril, Mar 10, 2011.

  1. Seril

    Seril Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Hi all. I'm running a stock rooted book color. I installed rom manager on the nook and flashed the latest version of CWR. When i boot into recovery it gives me an install failed dialogue. Has anyone else run into this?
     
  2. Fuganater

    Fuganater Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    728
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    102
    What version firmware do you have? What version of autonooter did you use? If you are at 1.1 and used Autonooter 3.0.0... then CWR will not play nice.
     
  3. Seril

    Seril Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    You called it. Those are my specs. Is there a way to make them play nice or will it have to return to stock and reroot? If I have to, should I keep it at 1.01 and use autonooter 3.0. 0? Is there a newer autonooter that solved this?
     
  4. tenderidol

    tenderidol Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    72
    I am in the same boat (Autonootered 1.1) and already experienced a boot loop with CWR. What I'm planning for my next round is this:

    1. Revert back to stock (1.0.1) using 8-failed boot attempts (I guess I can try to flash one of the stock images, but that requires using CWR with 1.1 again).
    2. Use a bootable CWR SD (3.0.0.5) to boot into CWR (no need to root again with the autonooter from stock since the new ROM will take care of that).
    3. Flash the phiremod beta2 ROM
    4. Keep fingers crossed that it will pass the CWR boot (even if it is stuck, there is a way to remove CWR and it will boot fine)
     
  5. Fuganater

    Fuganater Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    728
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    102
    I dont use CWR. No reason to in my opinion. Unless you want to OC or play with ROMs.
     
  6. Stelv

    Stelv Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    800
    Likes Received:
    53
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    Western, NY
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color Rooted
  7. rico2001

    rico2001 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,599
    Likes Received:
    264
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Tablet / Device:
    NOOKcolor
    hmm.... yea I had this happen to me once. Can't remember what it was, I do believe it was simple and something I resolved in no time.

    -Did you allow SU access to to CWR Rom manger?
    -Make sure you have your wifi on and you are connected to a network before you press "Flash Clockworkmod Recovery".

    Also
    -If manually flashing CWR recovery in CWR Rom manger from zip on sd card, rename the zip to update.zip


    Well actually another and possibly most important use is for creating a full working backup.
     
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2011
  8. faceman

    faceman Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    140
    Trophy Points:
    132
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Tablet / Device:
    NOOKcolor on CM7 nightly w/ 1.1gHz OC
    Agreed, best option is to use a bootable CWR to restore to 1.0.1 stock, reroot with autonooter 2.12.25 (for 1.0.1) and install CWR there. If you want 1.1 badly, use the pre-rooted flashable version after you have CWR installed, they play nice when done in that order.
     
  9. darmeen

    darmeen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    119
    Trophy Points:
    162
    Location:
    Texas
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color
    If you are going to go to Phiremod v2beta, no need to revert back to stock. Just start with your step 2...
     
  10. tenderidol

    tenderidol Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    72
    I actually did that (i.e., use bootable CWR and install phiremod beta2) and got stock in a boot loop (I had 1.1 at the time). Last night, I went with the plan as stated above and didn't see any boot loops after installing over 1.0.1. Before the installation, I wanted to make a back up of my 1.1 with CWR, and even the backup process got me into a boot-loop once rebooted. Then, I used the removeCWR.zip to get rid of it and proceeded with installting phiremod.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
my fingertips are not working on my nook
,

nook install failed

,

tablet colour not working