cyanogen mod

Discussion in 'Coby Tablets' started by hankm24, Feb 10, 2011.

  1. hankm24

    hankm24 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby kyros OEM2.3 with Root ! and my Froyo Rom
    If i install cyanigen mod for coby kyros can i boot into clockwork mod and return to android 2.1 if i dont like cyanogen mod ?
     
  2. pbrauer

    pbrauer Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,649
    Likes Received:
    561
    Trophy Points:
    312
    Location:
    Edina, MN USA
    Tablet / Device:
    HTC Thunderbolt, ViewSonic GTab, Huawei S7, Gentouch 78
    The purpose of a properly installed and configured Clockwork is so that you can easily switch ROMs, or backup and restore full images of the current state of your tablet for when you completely hose it (the voice of experience here).
     
  3. l_n

    l_n Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    99
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    TN, USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Mid7015
    yes. clockwork should be used for backups, then roms. oh, and did i mention BACKUPS?
     
  4. hankm24

    hankm24 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby kyros OEM2.3 with Root ! and my Froyo Rom
    Ok thx guys has anybody installed cyanogen mod on this device and if so can u tell me if its good or not

    Sent from my MID7015 using Tapatalk
     
  5. l_n

    l_n Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    99
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    TN, USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Mid7015
    there are instructions for an experimental build if you just search a bit....
     
  6. Sir Robin

    Sir Robin Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    Location:
    N37 07 W93 21
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color,Kyros MID7015, AcerIconia500, Kindle Fire, Vtab
    I have Cyanogen and am very happy with it, my Kyros stock was not usable (I got FC with every attempt to add any shortcut or widgets) you do have to follow the process step by step for installing and do the back up and then move it all to your computer before proceeding. I made sure I had the ADK working first, I found a step by step wiki for getting it working, glad I did because at one point even following the steps I lost all touchscreen function and had to do everything while connected to my computer.
    It may seem like a lot but do the homework first and have things backed up, I had very little idea what I was doing and have mine working with CM 6.1 which is Android 2.2.
    Apps2SD does not work but that I think has to do with Coby Identifying the internal memory as an SD (not sure though), Neither does Angry Birds, strange it did at first but I messed around some and have not been able to get it again.
     
  7. jeffc83

    jeffc83 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Tablet / Device:
    Currently: Coby Kyros 7015,Viewsonic Gtablet

    I've been trying to install cyanogen as a secondary rom for a few days now. I'm experienced with all of this but cannot get past the md5 mismatch error. I've downloaded the same files three times. Does anyone have any suggestions?
     
  8. Sir Robin

    Sir Robin Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    Location:
    N37 07 W93 21
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color,Kyros MID7015, AcerIconia500, Kindle Fire, Vtab
    No suggestions from me, my son dropped my kyros from about 12 inches and the screen is now out of calibration, I was hoping that maybe reinstalling the ROM may help in some way. When I tried, all of my saved roms gave me the md5 errors... so now it just sits on the floor for him to play with.
    Pretty disappointed, thinking of buying one of the new ones but may just hold out for xoom or Toshiba tablet with honeycomb.
     
  9. tipstir

    tipstir Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,505
    Likes Received:
    110
    Trophy Points:
    162
    Location:
    USA
    Tablet / Device:
    COBY KYROS 7015 | 7015A
    Under this ROM how much free memory showing? There has been reports by Google Android that OS 2.1 and OS 2.2 have memory leak issues. OS 2.3 was suppose to fix those issues.
     
  10. jeffc83

    jeffc83 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Tablet / Device:
    Currently: Coby Kyros 7015,Viewsonic Gtablet
    When I run cyanogen with auto memory manager set to aggressive, I have 85-95mb free which is NOT the same amount of ram available as I do on my OG Droid running a similar 2.2.1 version (UD 2.5.0). On my Droid, I have 100-105mb free using auto memory manager as well. Now the really weird thing is that when I run ANY version of gingerbread on my Droid, I have 60-70mb free withe the same exact setup. Gingerbread takes more resources to run, which is why everyone says it runs so fast. I know this kyros has a memory issue and is not related to android because every android device I've seen boots up with the same TOTAL amount of ram before and after booting but the kyros only says 160mb total or something after boot....
     
  11. tpurdin

    tpurdin Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    cincinnati,ohio
    Tablet / Device:
    huawei s7, coby kyros, evo
    you can also install rom manager from market ( you can use free version ) rom manager will backup your current rom ( clockwork ) and allow you to switch between roms with ease. Once you have cyanogean up and running goto rom manager and save and then you can switch back and fourth with the click of a button, this is of course once you get clockwork working properly. I have not tested this on the tablet however it works on my android phone. I imagine it works with 2.1 as my phone is on 2.2
     
  12. l_n

    l_n Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    99
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    TN, USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Mid7015
    ROM manager does not work on the kyros.
     
  13. tpurdin

    tpurdin Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    cincinnati,ohio
    Tablet / Device:
    huawei s7, coby kyros, evo
    I am going to keep my mouth shut now lol. Before I get someone in trouble. Maybe a programming idea someone making a Rom manager for kyros. Just a thought
     
  14. mdparent

    mdparent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    Cali.
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros MID7015
    If I am using your watery rom, is that still true?
     
  15. l_n

    l_n Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    99
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    TN, USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Mid7015
    Yes.

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
cyanorgen for tablet
,
android keyboard not working correctly cyanogen
,
android tablet ciagen mod
,
cyanogen for tablets
,

cyanogen tablet

,
cynaynogen mods for coby
,
tablets cyanogen
,
tablets with cyanogen