Dead Vizio Tablet

Discussion in 'Vizio Tablets' started by joey2169, Nov 21, 2011.

  1. joey2169

    joey2169 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    USA
    So my Vizio Tablet was working fine for week and a half that I owned it... Last night the screen locked up and would not respond. So I hard booted the tablet and when it restarted brought me to the blue exclamation point of death. I tried all options available on this screen including restoring tablet back to factory settings and restarted. No luck still just get the exclamation point.

    Any ideas?

    I did get it at Costco so I can just bring it in for a new one, but if I can fix without the hassle of returning I would like to. Also could be good information for the forum here if I am able to get it going.
     
  2. sora72

    sora72 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Tablet / Device:
    vtab1008
    Just curious... had the tablet been rooted or was it stock?
     
  3. joey2169

    joey2169 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    USA
    Was rooted but had been for several days with several full power off and restarts completed without issue.
     
  4. bill2

    bill2 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Did you make any other modifications to your vtab? I know you have that other thread asking about getting full market access, did you try to change your vtab profile as discussed in that thread?
     
  5. joey2169

    joey2169 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    USA
    I hadn't made any changes yet to try that. It does give me the option to load a recovery file. Not sure if I could access it on the sd card but if someone has a default otb recovery file they could upload I could give that a shot.
     
  6. rprr

    rprr Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio Tablet VTAB1008
    It is extremely unlikely that rooting alone can cause the tablet to go dead. How did the rooting process go for you? Can you document what you did after getting root? What apps did you install? Which of those needed root access?

    I think that your best bet might be to call Vizio and see if they have any workarounds when in the recovery mode.
     
  7. vinogans

    vinogans Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Tablet / Device:
    vtab 1008
    I do think that root remove warranty
    you should try to call vizio as rprr said
     
  8. BPisMe

    BPisMe Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Boston
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio VTAB1008
    Same problem here...stuck in recovery. Just before the blue triangle sign, it says "Updating Device Please do not power off your Vizio Tablet" Mine is rooted too. It has been rebooting normally after rooting. I disabled (froze) the Vizio Update Service a couple of days ago and I think that may be the problem. I've tried looking for a signed update.zip file but no luck so far. Maybe someone who has root could look to see if it's on their device in the cache/recovery folder.

    Patience is a virtue...Brad
     
  9. swynkoop

    swynkoop Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    denver
    Tablet / Device:
    vtab1008
    How are you trying to hard reboot? Mine lost video and audio and I had tech support walk me through the hard reboot. The procedure is unlike any that I found published anywhere. I recall that you start by holding down both the on/off switch and the volume control at the same time, but I forget the details from there. Anyway, if you just did the software reboot, it apparently doesn't reset to factory settings. I'm still afraid of the rooting process, so I hadn't.
     
  10. BPisMe

    BPisMe Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Boston
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio VTAB1008
    I did not try a hard reboot using buttons. From the recovery menu (where mine is stuck), there is an option to reset the device. It is possible that the tech got you to the recovery menu. You can get there manually by holding both volume buttons down and turning on via the power button. Does that sound familiar?

    Brad
     
  11. joey2169

    joey2169 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    USA
    The hard reboot brings you to the screen I was talking about above. This screen came up every time I started the tablet.

    So I called Vizio and they just told me to try the procedure for setting back to factory settings. I gave up and returned it to Costco last night and got a new one..

    Now I have to reload all my apps :(

    Thanks for everyone's input.
     
  12. joey2169

    joey2169 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    USA
    I did freeze the Vizio Update Service as well. Maybe that is the problem. I used "Bloat Freezer".
     
  13. rprr

    rprr Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio Tablet VTAB1008
    I have frozen "Vizio Update Service" with Titanium Backup Pro but no problems so far. It's been a couple of days.
     
  14. swynkoop

    swynkoop Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    denver
    Tablet / Device:
    vtab1008
    Yes it does sound just like what the tech had me do.
     
  15. marvin02

    marvin02 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    Tablet / Device:
    Visio VTAB1008
    I have frozen the update service with Titanium Backup with no issues. I have restarted the VTAB a number of times since then - no problems.

    I looked in the cache/recovery folder and there was only a single log file (last.log). The log showed that the cache had been wiped.

    Perhaps others can check? Someone who has purchased the VTAB recently? IIRC part of the auto-update process is a reboot which may wipe the update file.

    Anyone else getting a procedure from Vizio please document the steps so that you can share it.

    Also please carefully document what you do to your VTAB after root so that we can figure out what is causing issues for some of users.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

dead vizio tablet

,
factory reset on dead vizio vtab
,
factory reset vizio vtab1008
,

hard shutdown vizio tablet

,

viziotab1008 reboot