Development question

Discussion in 'Huawei Ideos S7' started by fluxxion, Dec 24, 2010.

  1. fluxxion

    fluxxion Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Wilmington/Cincinnati OH
    Tablet / Device:
    Huawei S7
    So I tried posting this question at xdadevelopers but haven't gotten any replies. Personally, I'm kind of irritated at that forum because every question I post never gets any replies whatsoever. Anyways, hopefully someone here might have some insight into this question...
    So i wrote a quick small app, a media player, real basic. It scans the internal and external storage for mp3s and you start by clicking on an artist, then click an album, then click a track and then it plays. I was able to run the app in two different emulators, and then i was able to install and run it on my Huawei s7 tablet. I then gave a copy to my two friends to load onto their phones to test out, but the app won't play on the phones. One has a motorola droid and the other has a nexus 1. They installed my app using 'apk installer' (downloaded from the market), and it seems to install fine, but it has to force close when they try to run it. The option on the phones to install non market apps is enabled. I am at a loss as to why it won't run on the phones but it will run on my tablet and emulators. I can't really think of what differences there might be between the phones and tablet, except maybe screen size...??
    I installed another program on the motorola droid that i wrote and the app ran fine. The apps that i have been writing have been developed using android 1.6 and the tablet and phones are running android 2.2 so its not a versioning issue. There are no permission issues i don't think.
    Anyone have any ideas or things for me to investigate to figure this out? I would appreciate any clues.
     
  2. gurgle

    gurgle Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,463
    Likes Received:
    130
    Trophy Points:
    162
    Location:
    Near 39.11°N 94.6°W
    Tablet / Device:
    Better question What don't I own, Oh a generic APAD
    I assume you have created a signed app. I had a friend who did something similar to yours but never got the app signed. It would never install on anything but his emulator
     
  3. probbiethe1

    probbiethe1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,838
    Likes Received:
    139
    Trophy Points:
    310
    Location:
    Gilbert, Arizona
    If you want to send me a copy of your app I can take a look at it and see if I can figure anything out for you my email is in my sig

    Sent from my ADR6300 using Android Tablet Forum App
     
  4. JFer

    JFer Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    México
    Tablet / Device:
    Huawei S7
    1.- it´s signed application?
    2.- insert a try/catch in onCreate and use a AlertDialog in catch to show the error.
     
  5. fluxxion

    fluxxion Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Wilmington/Cincinnati OH
    Tablet / Device:
    Huawei S7
    yea i had tried to create a signed app but that didn't work as well. the other app i put on the droid ran without it being signed so that was curious. its just weird that the app runs on the tablet but not the two phones we tried. I'll try the try/catch block in the onCreate per JFer's suggestion.
     
  6. OffWorld

    OffWorld Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    67
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Haipad M701-R, Augen Gentouch 78 (returned it)
    I assume the phones had Settings>Applications>Unknown Sources checked too?
     
  7. fluxxion

    fluxxion Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Wilmington/Cincinnati OH
    Tablet / Device:
    Huawei S7
    so i tried putting in a try/catch block where it displays an alert dialog with the exception message. However, when i go to run the app on the droid, it never shows the alert dialog. Most of the time when i press the launcher icon, the screen flashes real quick but it just stay on the home launcher screen. Every now and then i get an force close alert saying 'Sorry! / The application blah (process blah.blah) has stopped unexpectedly. Please try again.' with a force close button. Sometimes this alert stays on the screen until i press the button and other times i can just catch a glimpse of it when the screen flashes. i've tried putting my try/catch block in a couple of different places hoping to find and catch the problem but no luck.
    So any thoughts on what this means? Am i not putting the try/catch in the right place perhaps? Is it not an exception that is causing it not to run?
     

Share This Page