Did I screw myself/

Discussion in 'Nook' started by baspinall, Mar 6, 2011.

  1. baspinall

    baspinall Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Just curious. I just rooted my color nook using my 8GB sd card. So now I want o erase the card and use in "in"my nook. I have to reformat it but it doesn't seem that I will be able to bring it back to a full 8GB. Should I have used a 1GB card or something for the root process?

    Brian
     
  2. darmeen

    darmeen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    119
    Trophy Points:
    162
    Location:
    Texas
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color
    You are fine Brian...first, remember to breathe! :)

    Go into your settings on your NC Device Info...make sure the card is in the NC...unmount the card, then format it...it should restore the proper partition and you will be good to go.
     
  3. baspinall

    baspinall Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    So if I put this SD card back in and boot my NC it will not mess something up? I'm a little new to this sorry.
     
  4. RaVenJ

    RaVenJ Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    493
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color
    Don't boot the NC with the flashed card in there. Remove the card, boot up, insert it, then unmount it. The card will be repartitioned and un-flashed at that point. I was annoyed when I rooted and turned my 4gb into a 39mb card, too.. As you've found out, Windows won't touch that partition,
     
  5. baspinall

    baspinall Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Just did what you said. Put it back on my laptop to erase. Still says I need to format which will turn my card into a 39mb card? Am I missing something ..... probably.
     
  6. darmeen

    darmeen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    119
    Trophy Points:
    162
    Location:
    Texas
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color
    Okay...slow down

    First, copy any data you want to save off the card onto your laptop, when that is done:

    Boot up your NC WITHOUT the card in it
    when booted, insert the card into the NC
    Go into the device info in the settings
    click on SD Card
    Unmount SD card
    Format SD card
    move your data back onto it
     
  7. frodo

    frodo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2011
  8. baspinall

    baspinall Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    I guess this is where I am loosing you. The only data on the card is nooter & disc imager. When I go to open the sd card to copy those it says I have to format. When I open the format window it says that it will format the sd card to 39mb capacity.
     
  9. darmeen

    darmeen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    119
    Trophy Points:
    162
    Location:
    Texas
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color
    Okay, since you have nothing you want to save (I was thinking pictures, and stuff like that)

    Skip the moving files to your laptop part and do the rest.
     
  10. RaVenJ

    RaVenJ Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    493
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color
    Hint: Don't use windows to format the card.
     
  11. baspinall

    baspinall Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Got it. Thanks. Actually used my Nikon D90 to format.

    Brian
     
  12. darmeen

    darmeen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    119
    Trophy Points:
    162
    Location:
    Texas
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color
    Glad to hear you are up and working, but why use your camera? Were my instructions not incredibly simple and easy to use? It seems you are making things WAY more complicated than they need to be.
     

Share This Page