DISCUSSION - Development Index and Root Utility

cps0824

Oct 25, 2012
Thanks for the heads up but im new to this . i wish there was a video or a better set of instructions. im a windows user. im still stuck on formatting the sd card

Traveller

Administrator
Staff member
Jun 16, 2012
This process requires a bit of knowledge about what you're doing, since it involves modifying critical system files. If those files are improperly modified, at best the device simply will not boot past the Android logo. At worst, you'll permanently brick the tablet.

Therefore, if you don't know what you're doing, do not root. At least, don't root until you take the time to learn about the process through a simple Google search. Or else download the Amazon appstore and install it to get your apps.

cps0824

Oct 25, 2012
extract utility to what directory? can u provide clearer instructions thanks

Traveller

Administrator
Staff member
Jun 16, 2012
No, I can't. Working with compressed files is basic stuff you should already know how to do. If you don't, Google it.

cps0824

Oct 25, 2012
Dont worry about it thanks anyway...how about posting simple instructions>>

cps0824

Oct 25, 2012
ANYONE WISH TO SHARE STEP BY STEP INSTRUCTIONS ...I WAS TOLD TO GOOGLE IT ..LOL... BUT

1. Extract the utility to a directory.
  2. Rename the previously downloaded stock image to "stock_recovery.img" and the CWM recovery image as "cwm_recovery.img".
  3. Copy these two files to the "data" directory in the directory where the utility was extracted to.
  4. Run the utility.

vampirefo.

Developer
Nov 8, 2011
cps0824 said:
ANYONE WISH TO SHARE STEP BY STEP INSTRUCTIONS ...I WAS TOLD TO GOOGLE IT ..LOL... BUT

[*]Extract the utility to a directory.
[*]Rename the previously downloaded stock image to "stock_recovery.img" and the CWM recovery image as "cwm_recovery.img".
[*]Copy these two files to the "data" directory in the directory where the utility was extracted to.
[*]Run the utility.