Do I need a wireless carrier??

Discussion in 'Acer Iconia A100' started by LoveJC03, Jan 16, 2012.

  1. LoveJC03

    LoveJC03 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    GA
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A100 ~ soon!
    I will be getting the Acer A100 next month :) I've been viewing this form and I notice that Acer tablets are "wireless carrier back brand"..... does that mean I can't use it if I don't have Verizon or another carrier? I have Wifi at my house, but I don't have a wireless carrier.
     
  2. probbiethe1

    probbiethe1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,838
    Likes Received:
    139
    Trophy Points:
    310
    Location:
    Gilbert, Arizona
    You can use it on wifi just fine. The carrier is if you want to use it on 4g or 3g

    Sent from my Vizio Tab/ Universal Remote
     
  3. weezyrider

    weezyrider Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    180
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer A500
    The Acer 100 has a SIM card slot. It isn't operable, but I'll bet Acer is hedging its bets for either European use or a later edition with a network connection in the US. ATT seems to have the 10 inch and ATT is GSM so you would need a SIM card. I'm just as glad it doesn't have a carrier connection. There's less than half of the carrier bloatware installed. OTOH, you can only use a wifi connection and availability of service is unknown.
    I went looking for accessories, and half the stuff I wanted was either Acer Europe, or AE.
     
  4. LoveJC03

    LoveJC03 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    GA
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A100 ~ soon!
    Okay that's great I'm glad I can use it with just wifi :D I've been so excited about getting it it would stink if I wasn't able to use it!
     
  5. jbenham

    jbenham Official ATF App Tester

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Messages:
    2,049
    Likes Received:
    128
    Trophy Points:
    310
    Location:
    Townsend, WI
    Tablet / Device:
    Sony Experia Tablet Z
    Can you get 3G externally?

    Sent from my Sony Tablet S using Android Tablet Forum
     
  6. weezyrider

    weezyrider Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    180
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer A500
    Maybe by tethering. You would have to check will your carrier.

    I know I could hook up the Sony Clie by bluetooth to a phone and that was years ago.
     
  7. CanuckDroid

    CanuckDroid Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Tablet / Device:
    A100

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
do i need a carrier for a tablet
,

do i need a carrier for my tablet

,
do i need a carrier to use my tablet
,
do i need a carrier to use tablet
,
do i need a carrier with my tablet
,
do i need to buy tablet through phone carrier
,
do tablets need a carrier
,
do you have to have a carrier for a wifi tablet
,

do you need a carrier for a tablet

,
do you need a phone carrier for a tablet
,
do you need a provider for a tablet
,
does a tablet need a carrier
,
does the a100 tablet have a carrier
,
how do i determine the carrier of my tablet
,
how do you change the wireless carrier on an android tablet
,
i need a new carrier for data for my android tablet
,

if i have a tablet with spribt gsm does it have to be connected with an account to use

,
is wireless account necessary to use tablet
,
why do you have to add tablet to wireless phone carrier
,
why do you need a carrier for a tablet