does GPS need to have internet access in Honeycomb?

Discussion in 'Android Tablet Discussions' started by androidforipad, Mar 18, 2011.

  1. androidforipad

    androidforipad Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Tablet / Device:
    LG Slate 10' android 3 Honeycomb
    does GPS need to have internet access in Honeycomb?
    I am trying to get wifi version of xoom and avoid 3G, so want to know if I can still use GPS during driving, does this not need internet access for GPS to work

    thks,
     
  2. Backnblack

    Backnblack Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    72
    GPS has nothing to do with 3G or Wifi.....

    But the Maps need to be downloaded, unless you have an app that has them already.
     
  3. androidforipad

    androidforipad Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Tablet / Device:
    LG Slate 10' android 3 Honeycomb
    thks you BacknBlack
     
  4. conchchowder

    conchchowder Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    72
    A-GPS works with a WiFi or 3G signal. How, pray tell, does it work since it isn't a stand-alone GPS receiver (as in my Viliv S-5).
     
  5. Backnblack

    Backnblack Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    72
    OP did not state A-GPS....
     
  6. conchchowder

    conchchowder Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Quote op, "wifi version of xoom"

    Xoom is A-GPS so a signal MUST be used. The unit being connected is CRITICAL to triangulation.

    I have a Viliv S-5 with a SiRF Star III GPS receiver. It goes straight to the satellites.
    If you have a receiver that comes with the Microsoft Streets and Maps program, and can write or use an app to pull the info off of the USB dongle, or another external usb receiver, then that may work as well.

    If you have maps downloaded, and you KNOW where you are, then you can simply use the map program, but it won't be able to tell your location without a wifi signal. In a metro area, that shouldn't be a problem, or just get a Broadband2Go dongle from Virgin and use it a little for $10 or a lot for $50. That's the avenue I'm going down, buut the Toshiba has full-sized SD, HDMI, and USB slots...no need for adapters or moving files from my full-sized SD cards...if someone would only add SDXC support, THEN I'd just drool a lot.
     
  7. sheep5161

    sheep5161 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    HongKong
    Tablet / Device:
    thirty
    You may need to download the maps you need
     
  8. androidforipad

    androidforipad Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Tablet / Device:
    LG Slate 10' android 3 Honeycomb
    sorry guys.,
    I feel like lost. but am not sure if samsung ro Toshiba or LE Slate would have GPS or A-GPS but waiting for their release.

    so I am trying to a buy a wifi and 3G version, dont sign up for data.
    so what GPS should it have to work w. out 3g data active? A-gps wouldnt do without 3g signal?
     
  9. DanU

    DanU Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Dallas
    Tablet / Device:
    WITSA91
    GPS is a separate antenae. You can use GPS alone, but need maps from somewhere - either internet connection or stored locally.
     
  10. androidforipad

    androidforipad Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Tablet / Device:
    LG Slate 10' android 3 Honeycomb
    Thks and I feel clear now :) I will try to store maps locally, so dont need to burn 3G's bandwidth even if I sign up for 3g data
     
  11. conchchowder

    conchchowder Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Load them to your SD card on your pc then simply transfer.
     
  12. androidforipad

    androidforipad Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Tablet / Device:
    LG Slate 10' android 3 Honeycomb
    Ifinally got Acer iconia tablet and got SD card
    how do I load maps into SD slot and where do I get maps from? i never used maps so asking, thks for help
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
android gps require wifi or 3g
,
does tablet gps need internet
,

galaxy tab4 gps require internet

,
tab4 gps
,

why does a tablet need wifi