Fast switching of App in Honeycomb

Discussion in 'Vizio Tablets' started by Kail, Mar 16, 2012.

  1. Kail

    Kail Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    los angeles
    Tablet / Device:
    vizio tablet
    I have just noticed that if you touch and hold the home button, your previously openned apps will show up in an album view which you can scroll and select to go there!
     
  2. nck1992

    nck1992 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    미국
    is the home button still in the border of tablet after updating?
     
  3. J515OP

    J515OP Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    5,172
    Likes Received:
    898
    Trophy Points:
    312
    Location:
    Northern CA
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color, Nook Tablet 16GB, Vizio VTab, Nexus 7
    No, it appears to have been moved to the corner of the actual screen.
     
  4. nck1992

    nck1992 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    미국
    It's so sad. I actually love that border buttons.
     
  5. J515OP

    J515OP Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    5,172
    Likes Received:
    898
    Trophy Points:
    312
    Location:
    Northern CA
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color, Nook Tablet 16GB, Vizio VTab, Nexus 7
    I also think this is a mistake. Maybe there is an option to select which to use or have both.

    It is ok to make buttons or not on future Android devices and let the buyer decide which model to buy. On current devices if they have buttons already then use the darn things!
     
  6. devildog

    devildog Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    Covington, Ga
    Tablet / Device:
    VTAB1008
    Yeah, this is something that worked in Gingerbread, too.
    I thought it might be something Vizio added when they put their skin over the native Os.
    On the other hand, my phone (Samsung Dart) runs Gingerbread v.2.2.2 and it does the same thing.

    Sent from my VTAB1008 using Android Tablet Forum
     
  7. Kail

    Kail Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    los angeles
    Tablet / Device:
    vizio tablet
    The new home screen acts almost like the ipad. Each category is one screen which you can swipe left and right to get to. There also seems to have a one level stack on the home button...i.e. pressing the home button will go to the last category you were on.
     
  8. J515OP

    J515OP Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    5,172
    Likes Received:
    898
    Trophy Points:
    312
    Location:
    Northern CA
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color, Nook Tablet 16GB, Vizio VTab, Nexus 7
    I think this was a somewhat silly implementation to continue. I guess it just depends on which side of the line you fall but I like having Android Home screens instead of iPad ones. Of course there is an argument for the simplicity and beginner friendliness of such a layout.
     
  9. devildog

    devildog Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    Covington, Ga
    Tablet / Device:
    VTAB1008
    Correction:
    The Dart is actually running FROYO (android v.2.2.2), not Gingerbread.:eek:
    So anyway this feature has been in android for a while.
     

Share This Page