Firmware update problems (used search)

Discussion in 'Gome Flytouch II' started by sicktght311, Jan 5, 2011.

  1. sicktght311

    sicktght311 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    NULL
    Maybe i didnt use search hard enough but i just recieved my flytouch 2 and i want to update the firmware.

    I downloaded the update.zip file, and copied it to my root directory on my SD card. Shut down the device, held HOME (sorry typo i didnt press menu) and then held the power button. It starts up but gets stuck in the InfoTMIC screen and doesnt do anything. If i hold down the power button alone for 10 or so seconds then release, it shuts back off, and i can power on normally.

    I tried to do the system update through the software when i first got the device and it restarted but got stuck on the same screen. Seems like no matter what combination of buttons i use, it gets stuck there.

    I also dont have any USB cables to connect it directly to my computer (since it didnt come with any, and it seems to not fit any usb cords i have laying around).

    Also as another note, it seems most reviews i read people say the screen is pretty responsive to touch. With mine it seems single touch is fine, but swiping (to unlock it, etc) is VERY difficult without the stylus or a fingernail. You have to push down VERY hard
     
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2011
  2. l_n

    l_n Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    99
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    TN, USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Mid7015
    Did you hold down home the entire time the logo was displayed?
    If you're rooted, you could d/l quick boot. It has a boot in recovery option.
     
  3. sicktght311

    sicktght311 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    NULL
    Yup, no matter what combination i do, if i hold down home, it freezes on the infoTMIC screen.
    -Hold home and then hold power - Freezes
    -press power then hold home - freezes
    -hold home then press power - freezes

    Cant figure this damn thing out and its frustrating as all hell
     
  4. sicktght311

    sicktght311 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    NULL
    Seems the Menu+Power combination on this device freezes it outright no matter what screen you're in

    I tried the Black square button+power to boot it into the countdown screen, then held Power+menu during the countdown and it froze at 1s and wouldnt do anything until i hard reset it.

    I'm out of ideas
     
  5. l_n

    l_n Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    99
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    TN, USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Mid7015
  6. sicktght311

    sicktght311 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    NULL

    I'm able to do everything there (reflash to factory default, etc) EXCEPT the Menu+Power. Still freezes the device.

    As it looks, the only way i'm able to update this thing is USB, which is ridiculous because that means i have to order a USB cable, which takes X amount of days to get here.
     
  7. l_n

    l_n Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    99
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    TN, USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Mid7015
    too bad these things are too expensive to use as skeet....
     
  8. sicktght311

    sicktght311 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    NULL
    Followin up.........Still no luck. At this point i've contacted the vendor i purchased from about doing an exchange.
     
  9. guy.joseph

    guy.joseph Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    UK
    Tablet / Device:
    T Mobile G1, GoMe Flytouch II
    Same problem I'm having HERE

    I have tried literally every possible combination of keys, and even update by USB!
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

my tablet froze so i downloaded the update file to my sd card is this an ext update

,

update used tablet