(frustrating) Stuck on "touch of.." after being off all night...

Discussion in 'Nook Color Technical' started by revenge8, Feb 13, 2011.

  1. revenge8

    revenge8 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    NY
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color
    here's background info:
    autonooter - rooted 1.0.1 with clockworkmod recovery..
    stock kernal (changed back from 1000ghz omap kernal)

    Ok - 2 nights in a row i've fully powered down the NC and when i woke up in the morning I got stuck on "touch of..." screen. The only way to boot the NC is to go into clockworkmod and reboot from there.
    My question is obvious: does anyone know why this is happening!? why wont it just boot back up?

    If i just power down and reboot within minutes this does not happen, only when it stays off for 7 or so hours.. ive tried turning off wifi before powering down just to see what happens and no difference.

    Do i have to factory restore and reroot? i feel like thats my only option. no other problems than this annoying one.

    really appreciate any insight.. thanks.
     
  2. faceman

    faceman Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    140
    Trophy Points:
    132
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Tablet / Device:
    NOOKcolor on CM7 nightly w/ 1.1gHz OC
    Well, since I hardly ever power down my NC for any reason other than to boot it back up, I have no idea. I have not tried to replicate this situation. Maybe it's something that would happen more often but I don't think too many people power off for long periods of time.

    I'll search around for insight but don't know about this one yet.
     
  3. revenge8

    revenge8 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    NY
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color
    thanks b.c i cant find much of anything with this problem.. its so weird.. i've been looking all morning.
     
  4. rico2001

    rico2001 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,599
    Likes Received:
    264
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Tablet / Device:
    NOOKcolor
    What stock kernel did you use?
    Did you clear caches when flashing?
    Did you clear battery stats in cwr?
    Did you perform a full backup with cwr?
    Did you try to remove cwr, and see if you still have the issue with stock recovery? Cwr can be removed and reinstalled at anytime.


    Sent from my HTC Evo using Android Tablets Forum App
     
  5. revenge8

    revenge8 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    NY
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color
  6. Stelv

    Stelv Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    800
    Likes Received:
    53
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    Western, NY
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color Rooted
    I would stick with 1.0.1. I think there is a bug with cwr in 1.1. Do not turn the nook off. Just let it go to sleep and see if you have the problem.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  7. revenge8

    revenge8 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    NY
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color
    im attempting that right now.. just a weird problem i think. trying to wrap my head around it.
     
  8. Fuganater

    Fuganater Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    728
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    102
    If you go with 1.1 use the Auto-nooter for best results.
     
  9. revenge8

    revenge8 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    NY
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color
    i may do a factory restore and reinstall/reroot to squash any bugs i might have acquired during the initial rooting process. frustrating.
     
  10. rico2001

    rico2001 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,599
    Likes Received:
    264
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Tablet / Device:
    NOOKcolor
    I'd try the cwr removal and re-install.
    You could also try the 1.1 ROM.

    There is no major bugs with CWR and Nookcolor 1.1 ROM, it's with CWR and b&n 1.1 using root method autonooter 3.0.
     
  11. revenge8

    revenge8 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    NY
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color
    thank you for this information.. i will do the CWR removal/reinstall first. Then if no go ill do the 1.1 ROM.. if it still gives me problems.. its back to factory and a do-over for me. really appreciate the help.
     
  12. revenge8

    revenge8 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    NY
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color
    ok so finally got back to my nook (lunch break at work)..
    left it on to sleep (not powered down) since 8 am.. at 1pm the NC launched right up .. no problems.. so its something to do with the powering off for sure.

    i removed clockwork recovery (thanks to the top portion of rico's thread http://www.androidtablets.net/forum...-1-update-if-using-clockworkmod-recovery.html)
    uninstalled rom manager (just for the hell of it)
    reinstalled RM and reflashed CWR.

    then i installed 1.1 ROM via CWR and now i will leave it off. cross your fingers.
    ...btw i feel like 1.1 is snappier.
     
  13. avi

    avi Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    65
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    India
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color
    I don't agree with you here. I turn off Nook more than 10 hours everyday [my college hours] and I see no problems.
     
  14. Stelv

    Stelv Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    800
    Likes Received:
    53
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    Western, NY
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color Rooted
    Apparently the bug is with using auto nooter 3 for 1.1. According to Rico using the 1.1 rom instead is fine.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  15. avi

    avi Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    65
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    India
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color
    Oh okay, I have 1.1 pre rooted :D
     

Share This Page