Funny thing, 3.2 update with root

Discussion in 'Acer Iconia Tab A500 Forum' started by FoFoJoe, Oct 3, 2011.

  1. FoFoJoe

    FoFoJoe Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    'Merica
    Tablet / Device:
    ACER Iconia A500
    I have a fully rooted tablet, custom kernel and all.. and I am currently downloading the OTA update..ni thought because I rooted this wouldn't happen?

    Sent from my A500 using Android Tablet Forum
     
  2. bolster

    bolster Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Did it install?

    Sent from my A100 using Android Tablet Forum
     
  3. FoFoJoe

    FoFoJoe Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    'Merica
    Tablet / Device:
    ACER Iconia A500
    Still downloading.. but I will report back when -and if- it installs

    Sent from my A500 using Android Tablet Forum
     
  4. bolster

    bolster Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    I just rooted last night, and am wondering what will happen when the next update hits.

    Sent from my A100 using Android Tablet Forum
     
  5. FoFoJoe

    FoFoJoe Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    'Merica
    Tablet / Device:
    ACER Iconia A500
    Nope, didn't install correctly :L is there a way I can manually install? Like from an SD card?

    Sent from my A500 using Android Tablet Forum
     
  6. HD87

    HD87 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    US
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500 tab
    Being rooted won't stop you from getting OTA updates or cause them to fail when installing.
    In this case having a custom kernel is likely the cause, or if for ex. you had the Netflix patch & not the original file in place when updating, it would have failed.
    If you flash back the original kernel & make sure you have all stock system files then it should work.
    But if you already flashed a kernel, why not flash the ROM? after making a backup first..
    You broke the barrier when you flashed the kernel, you should go & explore!
    flashing a ROM is simple with CWM, you can make a back up of the stock ROM to an SDCARD & use CWM to install.
    Watch this video
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 29, 2014
  7. FoFoJoe

    FoFoJoe Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    'Merica
    Tablet / Device:
    ACER Iconia A500
    Hmm.. sounds like something I can do! The virtous Picasso one he reviewed looked pretty good, but do you have any suggestions? I want the most stable one out there :)

    Sent from my A500 using Android Tablet Forum
     
  8. HD87

    HD87 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    US
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500 tab
    Virtuous Picasso is a 3.1 rom. I tested out HoneyVillain, Taboonay but currently on -> [ROM] My ROM Honeycomb 3.2 A500 - xda-developers
    Don't have any issues. :D
     
  9. FoFoJoe

    FoFoJoe Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    'Merica
    Tablet / Device:
    ACER Iconia A500
    I got 3.1, so 3.2's wouldn't work, right?

    Sent from my A500 using Android Tablet Forum
     
  10. danielg5

    danielg5 Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Virginia
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia Tab a500
    There are lots of threads out on the subject, but this seems like the appropriate one to ask these questions. I have a rooted a500 (iconiaroot), still with stock HC3.1 on it. I haven't accepted the 3.2 update primarily because I use it to connect to my work vpn, and I don't have a proven method to do so without root (NetExtender with Sonicwall vpn, requires root). So, I have a couple of questions and am hoping that either someone can point me to the right tutorial or give some thoughts on the subject(s).

    1. Can I download the OTA 3.2 update without installing it, but rather, just save it to my SD card?

    2. If I install clockworkmod on the a500, will this make it so that OTA updates will not be accepted? Will I have to install custom updates from then on?

    3. If I create a "Nandroid" backup and install a custom 3.2 ROM, could I re-flash the backup to revert back to my stock 3.1?

    4. Is there a tutorial somewhere that provides some detailed information about these procedures? I was pretty comfortable using Gingerbreak and Iconiaroot, with "Root" and "Unroot" buttons, but flashing recovery files and roms seems a little more risky.

    5. Finally, If the answer to 2. is "yes", is it likely that the 3.2 OTA will work if I restore the stock 3.1 ROM Nandroid backup? Or, am I stuck with custom-cooked ROMs If I start altering my tablet to this extent?

    I eventually want to be able to use the system prepared by Acer (once there is a root solution to the 3.2 update) as I believe they are working to make the system as stable and useable as possible.

    Thanks in advance for your help and suggestions.
     
  11. HD87

    HD87 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    US
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500 tab
    You can flash to a 3.2 ROM.


    1. You can find most updates here -> [OTA] Full Package and Update (29/09/2011) - xda-developers
    2. No, CWM is a recovery image, you can flash back the stock recovery image, download Acer Recovery Installer from the Market.
    3. Yes, after flashing CWM recovery for Acer Recovery Installer you can make a back-up of your stock ROM to SD card then flash to a custom ROM, you can flash back to stock.
    4. Watch the video on post #6...
     
  12. FoFoJoe

    FoFoJoe Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    'Merica
    Tablet / Device:
    ACER Iconia A500
    Sweet thanks :D I will look into the ones you mentioned

    Sent from my A500 using Android Tablet Forum
     
  13. danielg5

    danielg5 Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Virginia
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia Tab a500
    Thanks for your response. A couple of follow up Q's:

    1. Are those OTA's pure Acer stock, or do you know if they have been altered?
    2. I have Acer Recovery Installer on my tab, but the stock recovery that appears to be part of the app is labeled as "Stock USA 1.141.07_COM_GEN1 recovery". On my tablet the build number is "Acer_A500_4.010.13_COM_GEN2". Since the recovery file in Acer Recovery Installer appears to be a few versions back from the one currently installed on my tab, is that a problem?
    3. Can I make a backup of the current recovery file on my tab before flashing CWM recovery?

    Thanks if you have the time.
     

Share This Page