General Software Questions Galaxy Note 10.1 - books, music,...

deehy54

Jul 16, 2012
I'm a newbie to all android. I have a Samsung Note Tab 10.1. wI-fi. I've set up a Google account and have installed some apps from Google Play. I also opened a Nook account through Barnes and Noble. I'm perplexed by how the tablet is supposed to work when it is offline.
I bought a book from Nook but can only view it if I'm online. I suspect the same is true for other kinds of files. Are there other merchants that allow the file to be resident on your device so you can read a book on a trip, or stream music files in the car?
I thought that that was what storage capacity was for. Or perhaps there is some very basic setting I should adjust, or an app for just this purpose, or a method of saving files? I have installed a 32gig sd card.

Why are lists of android apps always unalphabetized? Is search the only alternative?

Thanks in advance.

leeshor

Dec 27, 2011
Welcome to the forum

I think you are correct when you state that it "should" store them locally. I'm not certain why it isn't. It may be a setting somewhere in the app. I don't do any E-Books so I don't have a solid answer for you but something doesn't seem right. Most of the apps in Android can't save direct to external memory. But much of the data can be moved using a file manager.

deehy54

Jul 16, 2012
I posted the question on another forum and I'm cross posting in case there are others with the same issue. Here is a link: General Android App software question - Computer Help Forum - GardenWeb

Sorry I haven't responded sooner. I had to go out of town today.
I read through the responses and will go through them again. Today on the road I thought I'd take screenshots (the Samsung is supposed to make doing that easy) and post pictures of what happens. Then I decided to take it to the Geek Squad at BestBuy first, since I've had the tablet less than a week.