GenTouch Debug Loop After Flash - mediaserver & tcc_dxb_service

Discussion in 'Augen Gentouch' started by shawdog, Dec 11, 2010.

  1. shawdog

    shawdog Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    NULL
    Attempted to updated my new GenTouch with the 7800 Calibration patch, and now it just sits at the 'bird' boot screen. If I do a 'adb logcat', it appears it seems to be caught in some sort of debug loop. I can access the shell, but can't get the UI to boot.

    Keeps mentioning:
    I/DEBUG ( 846): Build fingerprint: 'unknown'
    I/DEBUG ( 846): pid: 2696, tid: 2696 >>> /system/bin/mediaserver <<<
    I/DEBUG ( 846): signal 11 (SIGSEGV), fault addr acf0b200
    ....

    and:

    I/DEBUG ( 846): Build fingerprint: 'unknown'
    I/DEBUG ( 846): pid: 2695, tid: 2695 >>> /system/bin/tcc_dxb_service <<<
    I/DEBUG ( 846): signal 11 (SIGSEGV), fault addr acf0b200
    I/DEBUG ( 846): r0 80019000 r1 00000001 r2 acf0b202 r3 acf0b200
    ....

    I've attempted to re-flash a couple different images, but always get this issue. Mainly wondering if the unit is salvageable. Almost feel like unit is newer then the update, but no proof.
     
  2. shawdog

    shawdog Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    NULL
    Now using gentouch78patchv3.zip and getting the same issue. The /system/build.prop file looks pretty bare. Dropped in a different build.prop, and still no luck. Pretty sure I'm calling no glory.
     
  3. cool1100

    cool1100 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Tablet / Device:
    Archos 7ht, Gentouch 78
    How new is new? There is more then one version of this pad floating around out there.
     
  4. xaueious

    xaueious Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,483
    Likes Received:
    435
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Location:
    Canada
    Tablet / Device:
    Asus Transformer TF300, Huwaei Ideos S7-104, HSG X5A, (Past APAD IMX515, APAD RK2808, RK2818 RT7)
    Does your gentouch have the 3.5mm headphone jack?
     
  5. shawdog

    shawdog Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    NULL
    Yes, it has the 3.5 mm head phone jack. I purchased it last week from Amazon.
     
  6. xaueious

    xaueious Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,483
    Likes Received:
    435
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Location:
    Canada
    Tablet / Device:
    Asus Transformer TF300, Huwaei Ideos S7-104, HSG X5A, (Past APAD IMX515, APAD RK2808, RK2818 RT7)
    You need to contact Augen for the NEW REVISION firmware. They changed their hardware. You were not supposed to flash this.
     
  7. shawdog

    shawdog Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    NULL
    Thanks. They suggested I try gentouch78patchv3.zip this morning. I'll check back with them and better explain my model, tomorrow. I'd settle for a booting unit, over a modded one.

    Thanks again-
     
  8. xaueious

    xaueious Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,483
    Likes Received:
    435
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Location:
    Canada
    Tablet / Device:
    Asus Transformer TF300, Huwaei Ideos S7-104, HSG X5A, (Past APAD IMX515, APAD RK2808, RK2818 RT7)
    shawdog, this is not the community's fault. Augen Gentouch changed their hardware completely without warning.

    Flashing a modified firmware over the stock is not the problem. Flashing a firmware not intended for your device, however, is.

    I'm sorry that I didn't pay too much attention to this before. I am not aware of any announcements made by Augen regarding this.
     
  9. shawdog

    shawdog Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    NULL
    Opps, let me rephrase that... they = Augen Tech support, not anyone in the forum. I chatted with Augen's tech support this morning, and they said updating to version 3 would fix it. I was just thankful someone could confirm there was a 'different' model out there. So thank you.

    I updated the firmware thinking I had the same model I kept reading about. I hadn't seen anything on Augen's site regarding different models. I had hoped to mod mine, but killed it before even really using it.
     
  10. robjack

    robjack Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Panama
    Tablet / Device:
    augen gentouch (with 3.5mm jack)
    I have the 3.5mm jack model, with Model #=NBA7800ATP

    I've run into the same problem here. I bought this device, tried to flash it, then it gets stuck on creature on top left. "adb logcat" returns the same output (looping over the two processes).

    I suspect I'm in the same boat, HOWEVER I flashed from Gentouchpatchv3.zip :\

    Shawdog: were you able to fix it with the version 3 patch? Or did you do something else to get it running after flash?
     

Share This Page