Getting ready to optimize NC

thedamon

Feb 18, 2011
Background: This may be my first post, but I have been lurking here for a couple weeks. (Great site with very helpful members BTW.) I have read the sticky's and many posts and twice through how to root. I am computer literate and know just enough Java to be dangerous. I have been using a droid x for 6 months, which is why I bought my wife a Nook Color.

I would like to root the nook. She will use it mainly for games, reading library books (maybe buy a cookbook or magazine subscription), and some web surfing (tv episodes, youtube, etc.)

1. Her NC is currently on 1.0.1, so I assume it would be best to use auto nooter 2.12.25 rather than starting from 1.0 or 1.1.

2. What sd card should I use? As my wife won't be buying a ton of books, I feel a 32gb card is overkill. But I do plan on using the card for root then NC storage. Is an sdhc card alright? How important will the speed of the card be (later on)? Should I go to Walmart or Best Buy? I will probably get a usb reader with the sd card.

3. Is there any last advice before rooting? Any steps that might trip me up?

I am sure I will have other questions after my NC root, like which media player to use or which games...
But for now, thank you for this forum. It has helped me immensely.

darmeen

Jan 8, 2011
1. yes, 2.12.25 would be fine...you might want to consider installing CWR after rooting to avoid the B&N OTA 1.1 update (CWR or Clockwork Recovery will block the update from coming through)