Gonna root but.....

Discussion in 'Nook' started by Fuganater, Feb 9, 2011.

  1. darmeen

    darmeen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    119
    Trophy Points:
    162
    Location:
    Texas
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color
    That was going to be my question.
     
  2. faceman

    faceman Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    140
    Trophy Points:
    132
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Tablet / Device:
    NOOKcolor on CM7 nightly w/ 1.1gHz OC
    Isn't there a missing step in those XDA directions that someone here noticed?

    I can't find that durn thread now.... anyone?
     
  3. rico2001

    rico2001 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,599
    Likes Received:
    266
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Tablet / Device:
    NOOKcolor

    -After you inserted your sd card with an 3.0, you plugged your NC up to pc via usb?
    -What error did you get?
    -How did you restore? What instructions did you follow?
    -In restoring, did you perform 2 steps or just 1?

    Need to slow down and read all instructions before attempting root.
     
  4. rico2001

    rico2001 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,599
    Likes Received:
    266
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Tablet / Device:
    NOOKcolor
    It's missing unmount and remove the sd card once complete and booted, and very importantly before you reboot.
     
  5. Fuganater

    Fuganater Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    728
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Finally got it to reset.... its now at version 1.0.0
     
  6. faceman

    faceman Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    140
    Trophy Points:
    132
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Tablet / Device:
    NOOKcolor on CM7 nightly w/ 1.1gHz OC
    And if I recall, may cause a stuck or loop issue similar to the OPs problem, am I right?
     
  7. Fuganater

    Fuganater Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    728
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Well i'm downloading 1.1.0 now and I guess I'll go to bed. DL will take about 14 hours so I will try again tomorrow night. I will be reading more at work to make sure its done correctly tomorrow.
     
  8. J515OP

    J515OP Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    5,172
    Likes Received:
    899
    Trophy Points:
    312
    Location:
    Northern CA
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color, Nook Tablet 16GB, Vizio VTab, Nexus 7
    14 hrs t download? Are you on dial up?
     
  9. Fuganater

    Fuganater Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    728
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Wose than that... African Internet
     
  10. rico2001

    rico2001 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,599
    Likes Received:
    266
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Tablet / Device:
    NOOKcolor
    Yes sir. :)
     
  11. J515OP

    J515OP Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    5,172
    Likes Received:
    899
    Trophy Points:
    312
    Location:
    Northern CA
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color, Nook Tablet 16GB, Vizio VTab, Nexus 7
  12. Fuganater

    Fuganater Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    728
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Status update:

    After restoring my NC last night I downloaded the 1.1 update from B&N's website.
    Updated it this morning but something strange happened when it rebooted... The Android boot animation came up... I'm like WTF? I restored it. So what to do? Before I left for work I started downloading the NC Firmware 1.0.1 and I'm thinking I need to clean sweep it with the normal firmware, update to 1.1 then re-Auto-Nooter it.

    Sound right?
     
  13. Fuganater

    Fuganater Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    728
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Didnt have to do any of the above :D

    I just reset my nook and deregistired it. Back to square 1
    Remade the Autorooter 3.0.0 SD Card
    Followed the instructions to the letter.
    Worked like a charm.
    I'm now customizing it per a few threads I've found here.

    Thanks everyone for your help.
     
  14. darmeen

    darmeen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    119
    Trophy Points:
    162
    Location:
    Texas
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color
    Well now you have to change your sig to match your rooted status!

    Glad to hear that you worked out the bugs.
     
  15. Fuganater

    Fuganater Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    728
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Done :D

    Now to buy my gtab.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

gonna tablet

,
root tablet gonna
,
rootear tabled gonna