Google Maps

Discussion in 'Huawei Ideos S7' started by pedro_, Apr 4, 2011.

  1. pedro_

    pedro_ Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    St Albans, UK
    Tablet / Device:
    HTC Hero
    Hey there is a new version out - 5.3.0

    Guess what - it still crashes on the S7 in satellite mode.

    Darn!

    Pete, on the move...
     
  2. 50cals

    50cals Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Tablet / Device:
    Ideos s7
    Bummer, noticed that with the last update also. I'm staying out of satellite view till it gets resolved.


    Sent from my Ideos S7
     
  3. xaueious

    xaueious Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,483
    Likes Received:
    435
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Location:
    Canada
    Tablet / Device:
    Asus Transformer TF300, Huwaei Ideos S7-104, HSG X5A, (Past APAD IMX515, APAD RK2808, RK2818 RT7)
    sad face :(
     
  4. Fendogz

    Fendogz Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    Location:
    Bronx, NY
    Tablet / Device:
    Huawei s7
    Yea mine does the same.
     
  5. JDubTrey

    JDubTrey Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    Location:
    Maryland
    Tablet / Device:
    Milestone
    I noticed this and posted in our "bloatware" thread.

    Maps was listed as bloatware that could be removed and installed from the Market, however only the original Maps that shipped with the tablet has worked for me. If you still have the orig and were satisfied with it, give that a shot.
     
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2011
  6. RoyEP3

    RoyEP3 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Anyone remember the last version that worked?
     
  7. pedro_

    pedro_ Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    St Albans, UK
    Tablet / Device:
    HTC Hero
    The version before 5.21 was ok but unfortunately you cannot roll back to prevent version , you have to go back to scratch

    Pete, on the move...
     
  8. tri_zet

    tri_zet Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    94
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    Jakarta
    Tablet / Device:
    Huawei Ideos S7
    i uninstalled the original google maps, and use "brut" mod version because i love the save/read maps from sd card.

    if you want to use older version, you can download from here, there are complete list of google maps.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  9. smartin

    smartin Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Texas
    Tablet / Device:
    Nokia N900, Boeing 737, PC--NOT Mac, Ideos S7
    No need to do that if you just remember to wear your tin foil hat. ;)
     
  10. brachiopod

    brachiopod Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Near Madison, Wisconsin
    I just got a Google Maps update to 5.3.0 gmm-android-huawei, and it seems to be working OK on the S7 again.
     
  11. RoyEP3

    RoyEP3 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Still crashes right away for me.
     
  12. xaueious

    xaueious Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,483
    Likes Received:
    435
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Location:
    Canada
    Tablet / Device:
    Asus Transformer TF300, Huwaei Ideos S7-104, HSG X5A, (Past APAD IMX515, APAD RK2808, RK2818 RT7)
    It crashes once you switch to satellite mode. It is triggered by a particular condition.
     
  13. brachiopod

    brachiopod Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Near Madison, Wisconsin
    Mine didn't used to actually crash, but operating the zoom controls in satellite mode was super slow (like 15 seconds to react). Now satellite mode is working fine., but obviously not for everyone. I tried some combinations to see if I could figure out what is making it crash for some.
     
  14. brachiopod

    brachiopod Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Near Madison, Wisconsin
    There was just another update to 5.3.11, and it still seems to be working OK for me.
     
  15. sanseven

    sanseven Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    california
    im sorry to here that
     

Share This Page