Got Hulu working on a500?! I do! XD

Discussion in 'Acer Iconia Tab A500 Forum' started by HD87, Aug 3, 2011.

  1. HD87

    HD87 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    US
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500 tab
    No Root required (Does not work with all ROM's)
    Uninstall your current version of Adobe Flash & install --> View attachment $Hulu_Flash_v10.3.186.7.zip
    Try watching a video on Hulu.com through the browser (Set to desktop mode)

    Alternate method:
    Root required
    uninstall modded Adobe Flash & install new version from Market
    download View attachment $libflashplayer.zip
    Extract libflashplayer.so
    use Root Explorer or ES File Manager
    Copy/Paste file to data/data/com.adobe.flashplayer/lib/ replace libflashplayer.so


    Browser must be set to Desktop mode



    Hulu
    is only available in the US & Japan.


    I do NOT support these patches.
     
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2011
  2. hira

    hira Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    Tablet / Device:
    Iconia Tab A500
    Is this 'official or community solution?

    Sent from my A500 using Android Tablet Forum
     
  3. drozas

    drozas Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    san diego
    Tablet / Device:
    acer a 500, OG Droid
    Do you have to be rooted?

    Sent from my A500
     
  4. rokclimbertx

    rokclimbertx Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Just tried. Hulu tells me I need the newest flash or better. 10.0.0.32
    Just for fyi sake I'm rooted on stock rom 3.1

    Sent from my A500 using Android Tablet Forum
     
  5. HD87

    HD87 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    US
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500 tab
    This is a "community solution".
    No root required.
    I found the stock browser is a hit & miss, try Dolphin HD
    You'll get the commercials saying you "dont meet the requirements" but it will play after.
     
  6. lolol

    lolol Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Tablet / Device:
    pandigital 7 black
    Sweet. My friend is selling one for $150 .. If this works, I am all over it
     
  7. chomlee

    chomlee Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    jupiter, Fl
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer A500
    i have never been able to get this to work. i tried the stock browser with the about:debug change to desktop. i installed the latest hack listed above, i even tried dolphin browser hd (set to desktop), and i still get the message that i have flash 10.0.---- . i am not rooted. could that be the problem or is there a newer hulu fix.
     
  8. HD87

    HD87 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    US
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500 tab
    like I said above, you'll get the advertisement say you dont meet the requirements but after those 30 sec it'll play the video, use Dolphin HD browser & set to desktop mode. It works for me.
     
  9. chomlee

    chomlee Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    jupiter, Fl
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer A500
    there is no advertisement. There is only a message saying i need to download the latest flash and it doesnt go away. why would it work on other tablets but not mine. Here is what i have tried.

    uninstalled current flash
    installed the latest flash patch
    stock browser
    used about:debug to change to desktop
    went to hulu.com but get the message telling me to update flash

    tired the same thing with dolphin hd browser (toggled to desktop mode)
    got same message to update flash.
     
  10. zanetti2000

    zanetti2000 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Tablet / Device:
    ACer A500
    Says to install Flash Player 10.0.32.
    doesn't recognize that the Hulu Flash installed previously.
     
  11. chomlee

    chomlee Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    jupiter, Fl
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer A500
    Ok, it seems there are many of us who can't get Hulu to work. Even with the latest patch. There should be no reason why some people got it to work but others can't. Is it possible that the only people to get this solution to work on the Acer Iconia A500 are the ones who have rooted their tablets? I know this is supposed to be a non rooted solution but maybe the A500 has issues with Hulu unless it is rooted.

    Has anyone out there been able to get a non rooted A500 to work with Hulu?
     
  12. abell.abell

    abell.abell Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    north carolina
    Tablet / Device:
    a500
    skyfire browser video works great on a500 and my HTC 2.3 phone

    it skips flash. they optimize the video and directly feed it to your device.
    their video service cost $2.99 after 3 day trial

    hulu doesn't work, but i can get video from tv.com cbs.com and tnt.tv
    probably others

    cbs.com has a lot of new and old shows. you can watch LOVE BOAT
     
  13. bella89

    bella89 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    india
    Tablet / Device:
    acer icĂ´nia a500
    @ hd87,

    am a newbie here .and most of these technical jargon confuses me. i have an a500 that came preinstalled with flash player 11 settings and try as i might i cant find a way to uninstall it.i contacted acer and they told me i cant delete a preinstalled app.i heard that there is a modified flash 10.2 with a hulu hack but wen i try to install it says app not installed.also am not sure how to navigate to my data/com.adobe.flashplayer/lib i couldnt find it anywer. going crazy here so if any1 with tons of patience could help me sort this out i wud be grateful.fyi i ve installed taboonay 2.0 custom rom running android 3.2 please give me detailed step by step instructions on how to replacelibflashplayer.so file and wer to find my com.adobe.flashplayer
     
  14. candita

    candita Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    Kentucky
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer A500
    For those who want hulu to work download Flash Video Browser from the market..it works flawlessly
     
  15. frapshake

    frapshake Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500, Samsung Galaxy Tab 7.0 Plus
    I'm watching a Hulu movie right now on my non rooted A500 using the Splashtop Remote app and it's running flawlessly. So far I haven't found anything I run on my laptop that won't run on my tablet including games, Hulu, Xfinity, Firefox, Windows Mail, etc.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

acer a500 install hulu

,

cannot install cbs app on acer a500