GPS app?

Discussion in 'Vizio Tablets' started by ebgillespie, Nov 26, 2011.

  1. ebgillespie

    ebgillespie Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Ohio
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio tablet
    I've quickly noticed with the "Navigation app" that comes with the Vizio if I don't set up where I want to go before I leave my home WIFI signal I can not change my destination while on the road, maps aren't loaded or I can't get a new route. Seems the "Navigation app" needs a WIFI signal to download the appropriate maps, find the route, etc.

    So, are there apps anyone can recommend that allow me to use the Vizio tablet as a stand-alone GPS with a navigation database? My wife doesn't like the fact that she can't go back home if she doesn't have a WIFI signal!

    Thank you!
     
  2. Maine_Coon

    Maine_Coon Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2011
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Tablet / Device:
    Vtab1008
    I recommend CoPilot for Android.
     
  3. RobKort

    RobKort Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    Pennsylvania, US
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500, Atrix 4G(2), SonyEricsson Xperia Play, Galaxy Nexus, AT&T Avail
    Have you tried Google maps?
     
  4. gjhuff

    gjhuff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2011
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    New Orleans, LA
    Tablet / Device:
    VTAB 1008
    I have both Sygic and Co_Pilot. LIke Sygic a little better.
     
  5. bill2

    bill2 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    62
    • Like Like x 2
  6. ebgillespie

    ebgillespie Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Ohio
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio tablet
    I have but I don't believe Google Maps works at finding a route or address unless I have a Internet connection? For example, I can't use Google Maps on my Vizio in the middle of the woods to get me home?
     
  7. ktackel

    ktackel Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Tablet / Device:
    VTab
    I really can't speak for him but I think his thought was Google maps will let you cache maps locally, but that still requires you to know where you are somewhat going beforehand.
     
  8. bclinger

    bclinger Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    195
    Location:
    Honolulu
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer A500
    It does, but it displays at the resolution it was downloaded at.

    Sent from my PC36100 using Android Tablet Forum
     
  9. ebgillespie

    ebgillespie Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Ohio
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio tablet
    Hello all,

    I'm still having trouble using Google Maps on the VTAB. When I have a working WIFI connection I will cache the map grid I need (which seems to only download in 10 mi x 10 mi squares). However, when I'm away from home and don't have a WIFI signal, EVEN THOUGH I'm in the previously downloaded map cache, I still can't locate any address.

    So, I've decided to buy a app. I tried Sygic, it was nice, but unfortunately around my neck of the woods (Ohio) the address numbers aren't quite right and it sometimes told me to make a wrong turn. This is for my wife, who could get lost with every map in the world, so I need to keep it as simple as possible.

    I was thinking of paying for CoPilot. Good choice?
     
  10. Deandec

    Deandec Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Northern California
    Tablet / Device:
    VTab
    I have installed Sygic and used it a bit. It does do enroute route corrections and new destination routing just like a Garmin or Tom-Tom does without a cell connection or WIFI connection.

    It does seem to be silent when it does not have a good fix on your location.

    That is a problem in my Jeeps, because in order for the VTAB to see the Satellites consistently, I need to have it on the dashboard. In a Motorhome it would be fine.

    In that dash location, the 8" screen is not visible so one has to rely on verbal commands. Glare and blockage of the windshield are problems if one finds a way to secure the VTAB vertically on the dashboard.

    Also, because of the size of the internal memory consumed, one may need to download map segments for the new part of the US you are visiting. It requires that you remember to do so which is a problem at my advanced age. :D

    And finally, one would want to shut down the VTAB on long travel days due to the 5 hour battery limit. I have not tried 12v charging of the VTAB.
     
  11. marvin02

    marvin02 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    Tablet / Device:
    Visio VTAB1008
    Co-Pilot is an alternative and I have it on our VTAB, but have not had a chance to test it much. There are a few different versions that start at $5.

    For in-car charging a charger that is rated fro the iPad should work fine, you need 2 amp output.
     
  12. Maine_Coon

    Maine_Coon Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2011
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Tablet / Device:
    Vtab1008
    I do like Sygic now, tnen more than Copilot.
    12V 2A charger does it for me.
     
  13. drum4ever

    drum4ever Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2011
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Broken Arrow, OK
    Tablet / Device:
    Vtab 1008
    I have copilot on my Vtab and use it every day for work. Not perfect but nice for 5 bucks. I only carry my state internally right now.
     
  14. tlyonstlyons

    tlyonstlyons Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    Boston
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio Tab
    Any 1.5A or better USB cigarette plug adapter will work but these output 5V. I imagine a 12V output would fry it. Some tablets do use 12v e.g. Pandigital.
     

Share This Page