Green Android laying down and a red triangle with an exclamation point inside it...

Discussion in 'Acer Iconia Tab A500 Forum' started by S_Gaskin, Aug 9, 2012.

  1. S_Gaskin
    Offline

    S_Gaskin Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    What does this mean? Someone help!
  2. S_Gaskin
    Offline

    S_Gaskin Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    Now there is a blue bar underneath the android... Come on, I know someone out there can help me; am I the only person who's gone through this?
  3. Frederuco
    Offline

    Frederuco Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    1,983
    Likes Received:
    501
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    /EARTH/USA/NC/
    That is the stock recovery, and the firmware update (.zip file) on the external SD card is not a valid firmware update, so you get this message.

    Are you trying to do a firmware update?
  4. S_Gaskin
    Offline

    S_Gaskin Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    No, my tablet was working perfectly until this morning when I woke up and it was stuck on my apps screen. I turned it off and tried turning it back on but it stayed on the Acer screen and its been acting that way all day. I'm just trying to figure out what to do next....
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2012
  5. Frederuco
    Offline

    Frederuco Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    1,983
    Likes Received:
    501
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    /EARTH/USA/NC/
    I am not an Acer tablet expert. Be patient, someone will be along to help you out. I know how painful it can be when your tablet is not working properly.
    S_Gaskin and (deleted member) like this.
  6. J515OP
    Offline

    J515OP Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    5,174
    Likes Received:
    899
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern CA
    Try holding down the power button until the tablet turns off, usually about ten seconds or so. Then try to power it back on. If that doesn't work you may need to try a factory reset. http://www.androidtablets.net/forum...set-a500-what-acer-support-wont-tell-you.html
    S_Gaskin and (deleted member) like this.
  7. S_Gaskin
    Offline

    S_Gaskin Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    I tried this and as soon as it says "Erasing Cache" the tablet itself turns off and on then it gets stuck on the Acer screen again.
  8. leeshor
    Offline

    leeshor Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,758
    Likes Received:
    911
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    I would say to try the same thing 2 or 3 more times. It couldn't hurt and might help. But make certain you look at the instructions again as you may have missed one, (or not).;)
  9. J515OP
    Offline

    J515OP Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    5,174
    Likes Received:
    899
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern CA
    Also try plugging in the tablet for a couple of hours or overnight to make sure it has the battery to make it through the restore process.
    S_Gaskin and (deleted member) like this.
  10. Frederuco
    Offline

    Frederuco Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    1,983
    Likes Received:
    501
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    /EARTH/USA/NC/
    If it won't finish the wipe and boot loops, you will want to call Acer support and check with them about doing a manual firmware flash. It may have an issue with the firmware installed. Worst case, you could have a problem with the internal memory partitions and it may need to go back to Acer for repair.
    S_Gaskin and (deleted member) like this.
  11. S_Gaskin
    Offline

    S_Gaskin Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    I tried the factory reset again a couple times and it did the same thing so right now it's off and I'm letting it charge; maybe that could be the problem it isnt finishing, like you said. I also called Acer Tech Support (TRASH!) and they told me to go to the FAQ. Really? Smh. My next tablet will NOT be an Acer. Lol.
  12. S_Gaskin
    Offline

    S_Gaskin Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    I'm gonna let it charge for the night and try to rest it again tomorrow, if it doesnt work I'm going to send it in to Acer.

Share This Page