gTablet noobie who is a little lost

rgc6789

Apr 8, 2011
I ordered my first tablet that will arrive this afternoon - the gTablet. I've got a few days before I leave on a trip so I want to run the best - and most stable - ROM there is. The tablet is 50/50 business and personal. For business I need exchange and Office docs. Personal, well angry birds, video and Nook app.

I've read through a lot of posts here and there is a lot of great information, but it's hard to determine which ROM would be best. Some ROMS are having issues with exchange. Office docs will require an app from the market.

Anyway, it seems that TnT and Vegan are the most discussed. Any opinions on which one and which version as of today would be best?

I'm fairly new to Android - Droid X for about 6 months which is rooted but factory. I'm a Microsoft Partner so I'm not a noobie to tech just to Android.

pbrauer

Administrator
Staff member
Sep 24, 2010
Well, first thought would be first and foremost, install what you need on the new Stock ROM and see if that works in the short term. You really won't know until you flash it, but since you say you are about to leave for a trip do you really want to take a risk with a flashed device that you might possibly have an issue with? We will get back to that in a moment.

Now, regardless of what apps you need, I use my tablet for about the same ration work/home. Here are the two work apps you HAVE to have, hands down:

- Touchdown from Nitrodesk as your MS-Exchange client. There is a 30-day full demo available at http://tinyurl.com/tdbetadroid that will give you full Exchange capability built for your tablet.
- There are several MS-Office apps, but the one I am going to recommend right now is QuickOffice, which also comes in a tablet version, the licensed version is HANDS-DOWN better than the lite version that is preinstalled on the tablet. You can get this from the market.