Haipad M701 latest firmaware: Android 2.3 (2G Samsung, Micron 4G).

Discussion in 'Telechips TCC8902 Development' started by aneto, Apr 22, 2011.

  1. z4a007

    z4a007 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Tablet / Device:
    M-701 4 Gb
    Synctools fixed the only problem I had consisting in calendar not functioning.
    Now I'm happy with 2.3
     
  2. pbienst

    pbienst Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    BTW, I retract that, I'm still back to 0.5 Mbps for most of the time. Fiddling with router settings sometimes does seem to help, but it's more likely just random.

    I looked on the internet, and there seem to be more reports of slow Wifi with Gingerbread for other devices too, so perhaps it's a kernel issue.

    Anyway, still interested in hearing what other people get with speedtest.net, and if they know of some magic setting.
     
  3. hopeless

    hopeless Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Does going into advance settings and change the channels for your wifi helps?
     
  4. OffWorld

    OffWorld Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    67
    Trophy Points:
    210
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Haipad M701-R, Augen Gentouch 78 (returned it)
    Does anyone know how to get the wifi-based location services to work on the 2GB Gingerbread firmware? And yes, I have the settings correctly enabled.

    Under the Eclair firmware Google Maps could get my location within about a half-block of my house. Gingerbread just says my location is unavailable. My home wifi router setup hasn't changed.

    I have tried replacing the "NetworkLocation.apk" with the one from the 2.3.1 SDK, but nothing changed - still no location.

    Is there a hidden setting that needs to be changed? Some option I can add to my default.prop or build.prop file? A library file missing?

    Clearly it worked with the old firmware so I know it's technically possible, but what magic pixie dust is missing from the Gingerbread build that is making it not work? Does anyone know? Does this work on the HY build?
     
  5. z4a007

    z4a007 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Tablet / Device:
    M-701 4 Gb
    Another missing apk is contacts editor.
    Does anyone know where I may get it?
     
  6. OffWorld

    OffWorld Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    67
    Trophy Points:
    210
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Haipad M701-R, Augen Gentouch 78 (returned it)
    You can pull Contacts.apk from the 2.3.1 SDK and push it onto the tablet.
     
  7. pbienst

    pbienst Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    I fiddled with all possible settings on my network setup I could think of. In the end, I think I found the pattern now: right after reboot, wifi speeds are OK, but then they quickly degrade over time. Rebooting however fixes the problem (at least that is my current observation.)

    Anyone can confirm or deny this? Perhaps there is a problem with some software I installed?

    The Xoom seems to have similar issues (even though it's Honeycomb), and there it has been confirmed as a bug:

    WiFi Speed decreases over time
     
  8. hopeless

    hopeless Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Doesn't work on mine either. Apparently there seem to be an issue regarding this in the other forums. Some more I was not able to run whatsapp on the current 2.3 unlike the previous 2.1. Guess it's all about give and take.
     
  9. hopeless

    hopeless Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    So far I don't seem to have this problem. Maybe will look into it tonight and let you know how it goes.
     
  10. hopeless

    hopeless Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
  11. saschab

    saschab Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    NULL
    Hello,
    I have a problem with the browser. I can not scroll web pages. Only when i zoom in, scrolling is possible. I use dolphin hd.

    When I zoom a little bit and scroll down and then zoom out, the browser goes on top of the page and I can't scroll again. Only when its zoomed....

    thx Sascha
     
    Last edited: May 21, 2011
  12. TioSolid

    TioSolid Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    I know you guys already tried pushing NetworkLocation.apk but did you edit the xml file? Check this post: xda-developers - View Single Post - Need to turn on locations (google maps/square)

    I tried to do that but im pretty sure im using the wrong NetworkLocation.apk file since after pushing it to system/app my tablet just crashes after boot and start reseting itself.

    EDIT: Confirmed, even with NetworkLocation.apk from 2.3.1 (321KB package) it still doesnt work :/
     
    Last edited: May 21, 2011
  13. OffWorld

    OffWorld Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    67
    Trophy Points:
    210
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Haipad M701-R, Augen Gentouch 78 (returned it)
    @TioSolid (and anyone else frustrated by the lack of location services)

    I've been trying everything I can think of to enable this for days now. Here's what I've tried out so far:

    1. Replace the NetworkLocation.apk file with the one from the 2.3.1 SDK.

    2. /data/data/com.android.settings/shared_prefs/com.android.settings_preferences.xml
    already has the <boolean name="location_wifi" value="true" /> in it. Nothing to fix.

    3. Tried editing the providers database directly, but it already has "network" set as a location provider. Tried adding "wifi" even though I don't know if it is a legitimate option:
    ./adb -d shell
    # sqlite3 data/data/com.android.providers.settings/databases/settings.db
    # sqlite> update secure set value='wifi,network,gps' where name='location_providers_allowed';


    4. Noticed that same database file has "mock location" set to "1" and on xda I've seen someone post their database file and it was set to zero (mock location is only used when developing location-based apps and you need to feed it false location data). So I figured this should be set to zero:
    #sqlite> update secure set value=0 where name='mock_location';

    5. Also noticed that "assisted_gps_enabled" was set to zero. I'm not entirely sure what this is, but based on the explanation of how Android gets location on the Google dev site I'm assuming it means if GPS can't get location data it is "assisted" by the other methods? But I don't really know. Also, this was set to "1" in the sample file I saw on xda from someone who HAS working location so I figured what the heck. . .
    #sqlite> update secure set value=1 where name='assisted_gps_enabled';

    6. Noticed that my database is missing an entry that at least sounds like it might be important, so I inserted it into the table:
    #sqlite> insert into secure values(null,'use_location',1);

    7. Took a look at my build.prop file and noticed there is a property missing:
    ro.com.google.locationfeatures=1
    Could that be the underlying source of all our problems? That the firmware was built without this property enabled? Adding it to the file, though, doesn't do anything (or am I misunderstanding how the build.prop file works? Do I need to do a data reset or something first? I've never found a clear explanation of how this file is used by the OS or if it's just an FYI file).

    Nothing has worked, can't think of anything else to try, so at this point I'm giving up.
     
    Last edited: May 21, 2011
  14. z4a007

    z4a007 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Tablet / Device:
    M-701 4 Gb
    I got the sdk and dowloaded the 2.3 platform but I can't find contacts.apk inside.
    Can you point me to any docs explaining how to do that for a total newbie?
    TIA
     
  15. TioSolid

    TioSolid Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    For those in need, attached is a package with the .APKs from the 2.3.1 SDK. It includes:
    - LatinIME.apk (default Gingerbread keyboard);
    - GoogleContactsSyncAdapter.apk (used to be able to sync Contacts with Google);
    - GoogleCalendarSyncAdapter.apk (used to be able to sync the Calendar with Google);
    - ContactsProvider.apk
    - Contacts.apk
    - Calendar.apk
    - CalendarProvider.apk

    Attachment: View attachment $apps231.zip
    Offsite download: apps231.rar
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
content
,
firmware for haipad m701
,
firmware for haipad m701-r
,
firmwer for haipad m701
,

haipad

,
haipad android update
,

haipad m701

,
haipad m701 neues system
,
haipad tablet laggy how to fix
,
M701 android