Has my tablet hacked and have a malicious app? Please help.

wicks_10

Jan 18, 2012
I am new to android OS and just bought a DOPO 702 Tablet. While reading the manual, it said I would have to charge it and go through the setup when I first use it but when I plugged it in and turned it on, there was nothing to set up and the battery was at 90%. I also got looking through the installed apps (Settings >Applications >Manage Applications >All (Tab)) and at the very bottom of the list, there is on that is in all Chinese/Japanese writing and I have no idea what it is or how to get rid of it if it is something bad. Under permisions, it says it has access to personal info, network communication, accounts, services that cost money, and system tools. The picture below is what it looks like. When I click on the running tab, it is not shown though. I have installed AVG free on it and it shows nothing either. I don't know if the device has been tampered with or if it is nothing to worry about. The box shows no signs of tampering and the device seems to run normal. Does anyone know what this app is and can I get rid of it. If so how? Thanks for your help.

$DSC_00611.JPG

Last edited:

Androidfonefan

Jan 14, 2012
Looks like you have one of the cheap chines tablets, they come preloaded with all kinds of crap, and I would say your tablet has not been hacked, they just are like that. The only good way to get rid of all of it is to root the device and put a new ROM on it.
Someone else will have to help you with that though, I can recognize problems but have no clue how to fix 99.99% of them.
Good luck

Edwine

Oct 3, 2011
I too have a Chinese tablet and it gave the same issue when i used it first.i took it to my vendor who removed the errors and since then it has been working fine.I'll suggest you to get it checked by your vendor.he will definitely resolve your issue.

wicks_10

Jan 18, 2012