Hello - from digitalandroid.com - I am new and here to Help

Discussion in 'New Member Introduction & Site Assistance' started by digitalandroid.com, Jun 15, 2010.

  1. digitalandroid.com
    Offline

    digitalandroid.com Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    HK
    Hi all,
    I am quite excited to join the forum as it talks all about what I deal in – android based tablets, pc and others

    I am happy to share my views, experiences and more if you have any questions.

    I know every android or other tablet that gets released out of China, I test them and know how and where they get made and what the quality is all about.

    I am here to help...for any questions because I buy them, sell them and offer support.
    Don’t get scammed by cheap prices on eBay or other...there is a huge difference between what you buy and what you get.

    Cheers
    Sam
    Zenya likes this.
  2. munloong
    Offline

    munloong Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NULL
    Hi Sam,
    How much is the Android Tablet?
    Can i re-install the Android (like windows) OS? to update the OS as i notice quite offen there are new version of android OS.

    How can i write simple android apps and install it into the Android Tablet?
    a) in the Android Tablet itself?
    b) in a window base PC using the SDK and port over to the Tablet?

    There are so many questions....
    haha

    Can you help me?
    my name is munloong
    email is cheongmunloong@yahoo.com
    I am from Malaysia, KL
  3. digitalandroid.com
    Offline

    digitalandroid.com Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    HK
    Dear Moonlong.
    Thank you for the questions they are very well thought of.
    The Android 1.5 Tablet with Rock chip 2808 and dual chipset that gives it a 1.15Ghz clock speed cost USD199/- with express shipping.

    - Yes you can reinstall the OS but not upgrade it or install any other OS - however it never hurts to experiment and its a window of opportunity for people like you.

    - There are many tablets with android 1.6/1/7 etc that are used to woo customers- specially on eBay - but bottom line is I have tested all of them and most of them are crap because they run on VIA ARM processors + quality for the LCD touch screen is not good at all- so my answer on that is that don’t look at what android version it is - what you need to look at how stable the hardware is to give you that experience you want - not struggle with trying to get it to work.
    Because the difference between 1.5 and 1.6 is extremely small- however the difference between 1.5 and 2.1 are notable
    I am working on getting a android 2.1 tablet out from China in the next 2 months (priced around $225) but that will take some time as lot of work goes into making one of these perfect.

    I do provide promising developers with the OS when they buy the tablets from me- so they can look at how its made.
    I have a lot of designers who buy from me and also are in the work of designing apps for various industries - insight with my tablet.

    I hope this helps.
    Sam
  4. Red
    Offline

    Red Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    UK, Burnley
    Hi digital,

    Can you tell me if you have any tablets on the horizon with built-in GPS (your future Android 2.1 for example?).
    Is the WCDMA protocol compatible with UK networks?

    Cheers,

    Red
  5. Soylent_Geek
    Offline

    Soylent_Geek Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    So why would you reccomend your 1.5 Tablet over the M003?

    Is there any upgrade for your 1.5 Tablet?

    D.
  6. timcrowell
    Offline

    timcrowell Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NULL
    Hi Sam I just bought a moo3 no real directions Android it keeps losing wireless connection from 5 ft.Well its all a lerning experiance.
  7. dbjones
    Offline

    dbjones Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NULL
    Hi,

    I have joined the forum today as I am desperate to soak up as much information as I can about the Apad / iRobot Android Tablet using the Rockchip chipset.

    I am from Australia and like many people I have bought a supposed Rockchip Android Tablet (Apad / iRobot) through e-bay. I chose a local Australian seller as the price didn't look to bad and I thought having a local warranty seemed like a good idea.

    However, I am getting a little worried as the seller is offering 4gb and 16gb NAND Flash internal Memory. That sounded exactly what I wanted.

    However, no other vendor or website seems to be offering similar internal storage.

    Is anyone aware of any similar devices being available for sale?

    Regards,

    David
  8. bcuzicn
    Offline

    bcuzicn Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NULL
    Help! I just received my Google Android APAD and my computers can't seem to find the driver. I am running Windows Vista on one computer and Windows 7 on the other. I need the driver so that I can transfer files from my computer to the APAD and neither computer recognizes it.
  9. sherrij
    Offline

    sherrij Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NULL
    Hi. I just purchased an APAD M70003 series from an acquaintance yet, I don't really know how this works or what it really is. I was told that it functions like a laptop (without the bulk) so I thought that would be great for my daughter who's leaving for college this fall. Well, when I got it home, it just didn't seem to have all the features that I was told and neither does it seem to support any word processing. Also, the application store is in the Chinese/Japanese language. How can I switch that to English? Have I been had and if so, is there a way to fix this problem by adding some applications? Desperate for your help.
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2010
  10. techdaring
    Offline

    techdaring Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Welcome to android tablet forum.
  11. reikioz
    Offline

    reikioz Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NULL
    Hi,
    I have an M300 iPed and for reasons I don't need to explain, I did a factory reset. I now have no apps, keyboard or wireless. Can you help me with some information on how to get it working properly again?

    Thanks,

    Frank
  12. kfreele
    Offline

    kfreele Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NULL
    Hi Sam

    I just bought a tablet in Hong Kong and brought it back to Australia to use. I am new to android land. The version of OS I have is 1.5, model number says SDKDemo and Kernal version is 2.6.25 rockchip ver 1.2.7 ruiguan. build number RK-1.3.2.eng.root.20100512.140303.
    Can you tell me what all this means? Can I upgrade, and how the firmware version?
    There are several Chinese apps on it and how do I get rid of them?

    Hope you can help.

    Newbie
    Kevin
  13. digitalandroid
    Offline

    digitalandroid Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Dear Red,
    try and check if WDCMA protocol is being used by VODAFONE, i know that they were introducing it in Australia.

    For the GPS- there is a unit in the market that has a Samsung Chipset with a clock speed on 533- however i would suggest not to buy it because the hardware and the touch screen is not up to scratch.

    Manufacturers will put in many features to bump up their sales- however its not worth the feature if it doesnt have the engine to do the work.

    The Only Worth unit right now is the ROCKCIP RS1-PAD- its stable and quality.

    The 2.1 is no due yet because the manufacturer is cashing in on the Rockchip 1.5 at the moment.

    I hope this helps
    sam
    digitalandroid
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2010
  14. digitalandroid
    Offline

    digitalandroid Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hong Kong

    dear Frank,
    Contact me via my website and I will send you instructions on how to upload the firmware,
    What has happened is you have done a factory reset- and this has erased the android platform.
    I hope this helps
    Sam
    digitalandroid.com
  15. digitalandroid
    Offline

    digitalandroid Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Dear Newbie ( nice name)
    The Rockchip 1.5 is the most stable in the market however there are low grade copies available now, so thats a big issue.
    The kernel verision is some thing like a edition- like a book with 1/2/3 editions- bug fixes.

    You cannot upgrade this tablet, so please dont try as reformating this one takes time.
    For the chinese apps, they are there by default.
    Go to apps manager and uninstall what you dont need.
    I hope this helps
    Sam
    digitalandroid.com
  16. digitalandroid
    Offline

    digitalandroid Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    One should not just look at the android platform- just because the listing says 1.7.4 etc or other numbers does not mean it will run better.
    What you need to see is under the hood- does it have the engine to run it + quality.

    THERE IS NO COMPARISON BETWEEN THE ROCKCHIP RS1-PAD AND THE M003- THE RS1-PAD IS SUPERIOR ANY TIME IN HARDWARE, TOUCHSCREEN AND QUALITY.

    Read my recent post - I have explained further on this subjet.

    The RS1-PAD that I sell (not trying to sell- dont get me wrong) has a stable quality- have sold over 300 units and not a single complaint.
    From the touch screen quality to the hardware its responsive and does the job well.

    The m003 or the m002 are shocking - the quality is not good at all.
    almost all of the m002/m003 are being returned back to me as the touch screen or firmware issues.

    Not trying to discourage any one here- however many of us get carried away with wierd numbers that look like technical jargon- but bottom line is not matter if your car has the latest set of wheels- whats important is does it have an engine or the quality to run them:eek:

    Hope this helps
    Sam
    digitalandroid
  17. happyzax
    Offline

    happyzax Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NULL
    Sam,

    1. How well does the webcam work?
    2. Is there software already installed for taking pictures and recording video w/sound?
    3. Does the webcam work in gmail chat/google talk?
    4. Does the unit have an accelerometer? I mean can it automatically rotate the display?
    5. What is the resolution of the screen? 800x480?
    6. What physical buttons does it have? I seem home and what looks like a volume(+/-) button in the pictures.
    7. I see the Back and Menu buttons on the display (virtual). No physical buttons for these?
    8. GPS was mentioned a few posts back. Does this unit any GPS capability or an upgrade slot?
    9. It's a resistive touch screen right?
    10. I see the android market icon. Is the market available on this tablet?
    11. Is it really just a 4-day delay before you ship, or could it be longer if the manufacturer is out of stock?

    Sorry, for all the questions, but I could not find any of this information on your website. A specifications page would be nice.

    I would really appreciate an honest answer to my last question, as I currently have $180 locked up in PayPal since March waiting for my ZenPad to ship (damn Enso! :mad:).

    Thanks.
  18. kfreele
    Offline

    kfreele Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NULL

    Hi Sam,

    Thanks for your reply. It was helpful. Got a new question. I am connected via my home wireless and this has worked fine to get on the internet etc. But now whenever I try to get on the internet I get a message that says process com.android.browser has stopped unexpectedly - force close.
    Any suggestions on how to fix this?

    Thanks
    Newbie
    Kevin
  19. kfreele
    Offline

    kfreele Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NULL
    Hi Sam,

    Thanks for your reply. It was helpful. Got a new question. I am connected via my home wireless and this has worked fine to get on the internet etc. But now whenever I try to get on the internet I get a message that says process com.android.browser has stopped unexpectedly - force close.
    Any suggestions on how to fix this?

    Thanks
    Newbie
    Kevin
  20. esmall
    Offline

    esmall Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NULL
    Hi Sam,
    I am new here and I really need someones HELP, I have yet to get a answer...I have a new irobot apad but it will not download apps from the market place, it just stays on the starting download page but will not download the app.
    how do I resolve this?

Share This Page