Hello - my first post and initial foray into tablets

fred

Mar 25, 2011
As the title suggests I am a noob in the tablet world. I've been using/working with windows pc's since DOS but I don't even own a "smart" phone so all this tablet, mobile OS etc is like Greek to me. I just purchased a Superpad 10.2" Tablet PC just to see if I might like the tablet experience; it has the following specs.

• OS: Android 2.1 Processor: FlyTouch ARM11 1Ghz RAM: 256MB DDR2
  • WiFi Enabled
  • Internal Hard Drive: 2GB Flash with 2 TF slots for expansion (supports MicroSD 32GB max)
  • Ports: 2 x USB 2.0, 2 x MicroSD Slots, Mini HDMI, DC Jack, 3.5mm Headphone/Line-Out, RJ45 Ethernet
  • Display: 10.2" TFT Touch Screen (1024 x 600 resolution)
Doesn't appear that this site has a forum specific to this tablet as it seems this unit is some type of clone made in China? So I guess any further posts will have to be in the generic forum. I read a number of posts and stickies prior to joining and a lot of them relate to "rooting" - obviously I am not yet ready to do that, but would it be of a benefit down the road?

My biggest concerns now are since I have NO experience with mobile OS, smart phones etc (other than playing with an Ipod touch for an hour or so) is how difficult to use might this tablet be? I am going to be able to use it in a windows like manner? Will I be able to upgrade to 2.2 or 2.3 of Android should I find 2.1 lacking in some features or functionality?

I probably will not ever see this (or any other unit, like a Xoom or Galaxy)as a replacement for my laptop but rather something else to use when traveling or in the recliner for checking email, googleing something, reading a book etc.