Hello One and All from the Fng to the Forums, I Come Bearing Questions...

Discussion in 'Lenovo IdeaTab A2109' started by Gooner356, Jan 15, 2013.

  1. Gooner356

    Gooner356 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Cheshire, UK
    Tablet / Device:
    A2109A
    Hi Guys/Gals,
    new to the forum here, just awaiting delivery of my A2109, and have a question concerning the micro sd slot.
    Online everywhere talks about a 32gb micro sd card which I am about to purchase, but is 32 the max size it will take, has anyone squeezed a 64gb card in? Format Fat32 right?
    Also, does anyone use the tablet as a satnav since there is GPS. What app do people use?

    Anyway, everyone seems nice and friendly here and no one has had their lunch money stolen ;)

    Just wanted to say Hi from the UK

    Goon'
     
  2. Frederuco

    Frederuco Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    1,980
    Likes Received:
    502
    Trophy Points:
    314
    Location:
    /EARTH/USA/NC/
    Tablet / Device:
    ASUS TF101
    Welcome to the forum!

    You are in the right place, we have quite a few A2109 users here.

    Some will be along shortly to answer your questions.
     
  3. vampirefo.

    vampirefo. Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3,828
    Likes Received:
    1,389
    Trophy Points:
    655
    Location:
    Huntington WV
    Tablet / Device:
    Leagoo Lead 1 ZTE OPEN C, Coby 7065, Coby 8042, Coby 9740
    I don't have a micro sdcard that big, mine are 16GB. Just from reading it appears 32 is the max. A partitioned 64GB should work.
    The real question is what and where is this limition set.
     
  4. Frederuco

    Frederuco Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    1,980
    Likes Received:
    502
    Trophy Points:
    314
    Location:
    /EARTH/USA/NC/
    Tablet / Device:
    ASUS TF101
    I know that for the Asus tabs, they say it is 32 GB. However, if you format the 64 GB for FAT32 (cannot be done without a 3rd party software thanks to M$) or NTFS, it works fine. Some tablets (including Asus) will read exFAT (the default SDXC format) but it is not guaranteed that it will always work as it could be removed at a future firmware update if it compromises stability.

    Heck, I know some users with full size SD cards that are 128 GB in their Asus tablets.

    Same goes for the Acer tablets, 64 GB SD and microSD work, but you may have to re-format.
     
  5. J515OP

    J515OP Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    5,172
    Likes Received:
    898
    Trophy Points:
    312
    Location:
    Northern CA
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color, Nook Tablet 16GB, Vizio VTab, Nexus 7
    Yep, like Frederuco said, many tablets specify 32GB as the max but also work with 64GB cards in practice. I don't specifically know about the A2109 but there is a good chance it does. Google searching reveals many reports that sizes larger than 32GB work if formatted to FAT32. If possible borrow a card and try it out or you may want to buy one and can return it if it doesn't work.

    If you buy a 64GB card you can always keep it and use it in your next device too so there isn't really a down side to going for it. Just remember to come back here and confirm for everybody that it does work.

    JP
     
  6. Spider

    Spider Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    15,415
    Likes Received:
    1,784
    Trophy Points:
    1,000
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Tablet / Device:
    NOOK Tablet Stock NOOKcolor Rooted/Flashed Nexus 7 (2013) 32GB Stock
    Hi Goon', congratulations on your new A2109 and welcome to the forum. Nice of you to become a member of Android Tablets. Enjoy your new tablet and the forum!
     
  7. FloRider

    FloRider Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    358
    Likes Received:
    111
    Trophy Points:
    240
    Location:
    Florida
    Tablet / Device:
    Lenovo A2109
    I was reading just yesterday over at Lenovo that someone got a 64gb card working, formatted as FAT32. So I think you are safe. Welcome to the group :).
     
  8. Gooner356

    Gooner356 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Cheshire, UK
    Tablet / Device:
    A2109A
    Cheers for this advice guys, think I will wade on in for a 64gb. Any comment on the Satnav question?:)
     
  9. Frederuco

    Frederuco Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    1,980
    Likes Received:
    502
    Trophy Points:
    314
    Location:
    /EARTH/USA/NC/
    Tablet / Device:
    ASUS TF101
    I use Navigation (google maps) most often. I have used Sygic as well.

    Note - this is with an Asus TF101 not a Lenovo tab.
     
  10. mcl630

    mcl630 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    125
    Trophy Points:
    132
    Location:
    Illinois, USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Lenovo IdeaTab A2109A, Archos A101IT
    A 64GB card will work if you reformat it to FAT32.
     
  11. FloRider

    FloRider Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    358
    Likes Received:
    111
    Trophy Points:
    240
    Location:
    Florida
    Tablet / Device:
    Lenovo A2109
    By "satnav", do you mean (auto) navigation? If so, there is a member here who has his tablet mounted in his dashboard. I believe it's geno51.
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2013
  12. Gooner356

    Gooner356 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Cheshire, UK
    Tablet / Device:
    A2109A
    Well, I was looking for reasons to justify the outlay of scheckles to 'er indoors, since I have not long since had a new lappy, and thought that maybe since I need a new satnav (maps out of date), was kinda wondering if it was stoopid of me to think about looking around for a dash mount........
    Guess I wont be the only one huh???? by satnav yes I do mean something to shout directions at me :rolleyes:
     
  13. vampirefo.

    vampirefo. Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3,828
    Likes Received:
    1,389
    Trophy Points:
    655
    Location:
    Huntington WV
    Tablet / Device:
    Leagoo Lead 1 ZTE OPEN C, Coby 7065, Coby 8042, Coby 9740
    I am also looking for a good free navigation turn by turn map.
     
  14. Frederuco

    Frederuco Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    1,980
    Likes Received:
    502
    Trophy Points:
    314
    Location:
    /EARTH/USA/NC/
    Tablet / Device:
    ASUS TF101
    You could try Apple Maps!

    Just kidding.

    I use Waze on my phone and tablet. I am not sure if it will work offline, but it works great online in the US, Qatar and Italy.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  15. vampirefo.

    vampirefo. Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3,828
    Likes Received:
    1,389
    Trophy Points:
    655
    Location:
    Huntington WV
    Tablet / Device:
    Leagoo Lead 1 ZTE OPEN C, Coby 7065, Coby 8042, Coby 9740
    LOL, I was just going to download Apple Mapps, NOT.

    I did find this Navfree USA: Free Satnav and will test out today.

    https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.navfree.android.OSM.USA&hl=en

    will also look at your suggestion thanks.
     
    • Like Like x 2

Share This Page