Help bringing MID9742-8 completely back to stock

Discussion in 'Coby Generation 3' started by jmblouin, Nov 19, 2012.

  1. jmblouin

    jmblouin Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby mid9742 mid9740 nook color
    Unfortunantly my sisters coby 9742-8 tablet touch screen went bad on her. I am attempting to put the tablet completely back to stock. Heres where I got stuck. When I use Traveller1701 bat file from his .zip found here

    http://www.androidtablets.net/forum...ead-first-development-index-root-utility.html

    followed the directions to install the stock recovery, everything seems to be working right but the tablet does not reboot into recovery when the program calls for it. I have to choose reboot from the menu options after it finishes. Once I do that I turn the tablet back off and boot into the recovery and find that the cwm recovery is still present.
    I tried this

    via adb

    adb push recovery.img /data/local/tmp/recovery.img
    adb push install-recovery.sh /data/local/tmp/install-recovery.sh
    adb push reboot-recovery /system/bin/reboot-recovery

    adb shell

    chmod 777 /data/local/tmp/install-recovery.sh
    chmod 755 /system/bin/reboot-recovery

    /data/local/tmp/install-recovery.sh
    /system/bin/reboot-recovery

    It is from vampirefo. post here

    http://www.androidtablets.net/forum...09-cw-recovery-v6-0-1-1-coby-7042-8042-a.html

    I used a stock recovery.img instead but it still booted into cwm-recovery.

    What am I doing wrong?

    More information on the touch screen.
    It was working fine than all the sudden out of the blue a line running horizontally the long way started pushing randomly along that line. I tried everything on the software side (stock rom custom rom different stock roms cleared dalvik factory reset cleared cash rerooted etc.) I pushed heavily around the border of the tablet but it did not seem to help. Something went wrong so I am just returning it via warranty thus why I want it completely back to stock. It acts up whether it is plugged in or not so not a voltage issue while charging.
     
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2012
  2. powerpoint45

    powerpoint45 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    TX
    Tablet / Device:
    coby 1042, Kindle Fire
    This seems like a hardware issue to me
     
    • Like Like x 2
  3. vampirefo.

    vampirefo. Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3,828
    Likes Received:
    1,389
    Trophy Points:
    655
    Location:
    Huntington WV
    Tablet / Device:
    Leagoo Lead 1 ZTE OPEN C, Coby 7065, Coby 8042, Coby 9740
    make sure commands are going through, best if you just copy all your input and output from your cmd window.

    we can't see what you are typing nor can we see what feed back you are receiving.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  4. Traveller

    Traveller Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,275
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    460
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros MID9742, Dell Streak 5, Samsung Galaxy S4, Nexus 6
    Yeah, I've never been able to get the reboot recovery command working properly in the batch file for some reason.

    However, as has already been pointed out, you have a hardware issue. A LCD has a series of transistors running along its edges which control the on and off states of the pixels. In your case, the transistor controlling the blue pixels on that particular line has failed in the "on" position, leaving you with a blue line. That hardware issue however should not prevent you from replacing the recovery. What would prevent you from restoring the stock recovery is if you have an old version of the root utility. Download a new copy of the root utility and try again, as there was a cut and paste error in the older version which would prevent the stock recovery from restoring.
     
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2012
    • Like Like x 2
  5. jmblouin

    jmblouin Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby mid9742 mid9740 nook color


    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
    C:\Android>adb devices
    List of devices attached
    20080411 device

    C:\Android>adb shell
    root@android:/ # /data/local/tmp/install-recovery.sh
    /data/local/tmp/install-recovery.sh
    done
    root@android:/ # /system/bin/reboot-recovery
    /system/bin/reboot-recovery
    0+1 records in
    1+0 records out
    C:\Android>
    At that point the device reboots to cwm-based recovery.
    Note: I am going to try traveller's method later today by redownloading the files and trying again.
     
  6. jmblouin

    jmblouin Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby mid9742 mid9740 nook color
    I went ahead and redownloaded the cobyadb.zip file and replaced all the files I had previously on except the .dlls (they would not copy over)
    I re rooted the device for good measure rebooted than went and followed the directions to install the stock recovery. Like before everything seems to work right but it still boots up into cwm-recovery. (Is there a way to mark/copy data from the .bat after the screen has passed that portion of the information?) All the files push to the devices when your .bat calls for it.
     
  7. vampirefo.

    vampirefo. Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3,828
    Likes Received:
    1,389
    Trophy Points:
    655
    Location:
    Huntington WV
    Tablet / Device:
    Leagoo Lead 1 ZTE OPEN C, Coby 7065, Coby 8042, Coby 9740
    Are you sure you are flash stock recovery? where did you get the stock recovery and when you push it what are you calling it, upload your stock recovery that you are trying to flash?
     
    • Like Like x 2
  8. Traveller

    Traveller Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,275
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    460
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros MID9742, Dell Streak 5, Samsung Galaxy S4, Nexus 6
    Not that it matters much since the only thing that changed is the batch file itself, but why are you not able to copy the .DLL files? That should not be happening. Also, this may seem rather obvious, but I've made this error myself. Check and make sure that you didn't accidentally rename the CWM recovery as stock_recovery.img.

    Heck, since you're trying to restore the recovery to stock anyway, take two copies of the stock recovery from a system dump (if you didn't make one yourself), name one copy "stock_recovery.img" and the other "cwm_recovery.img". That way, no matter which recovery command you execute in the batch file it's going to push the stock recovery. If you still have CWM on the tablet after that, then I don't know what to say.
     
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2012
    • Like Like x 2
  9. vampirefo.

    vampirefo. Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3,828
    Likes Received:
    1,389
    Trophy Points:
    655
    Location:
    Huntington WV
    Tablet / Device:
    Leagoo Lead 1 ZTE OPEN C, Coby 7065, Coby 8042, Coby 9740
    the guy is clearly flashing cw recovery, just thinks he is flashing stock.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  10. Traveller

    Traveller Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,275
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    460
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros MID9742, Dell Streak 5, Samsung Galaxy S4, Nexus 6
    I went and edited my post while you were posting to make it clear that he needs to get the stock recovery from a system dump, since he likely didn't make one of his own.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  11. jmblouin

    jmblouin Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby mid9742 mid9740 nook color
    Here are the stock recovery dumps that I tried

    Version 3, Traveller1701, original post
    Version 3, Nandroid [COLOR=#698803 !important][COLOR=#698803 !important]Backup[/COLOR][/COLOR] (requires Clockworkmod), Traveller1701, original post

    Is there a chance that one of these has cwm-recovery?

    I will also try duplication the stock rom and renaming it cwm_recovery.img as well as leaving the same stock_recovery.img

    I have a system dump from another device that I own so I might take that recovery as well.
     
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2012
  12. Traveller

    Traveller Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,275
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    460
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros MID9742, Dell Streak 5, Samsung Galaxy S4, Nexus 6
    The system dump contains the stock recovery. The system dump is the preferred method when restoring to stock.

    The nandroid image was posted for the benefit of a user who requested it. The advantage of using it is convenience. It's easier to restore than using a dump, especially if intending to modify the ROM again. The disadvantage is that it's not wholly stock. Boot.img, bootloader.img, and system.tgz are stock. Recovery.img is ClockworkMod 5.5.0.4.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  13. jmblouin

    jmblouin Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby mid9742 mid9740 nook color
    I went ahead and took the recovery from the dump of one of my other devices. I made two copies of it and named one stock_recovery.img and the other cwm_reocevery.img. The same thing happened. I am have cwm-based recovery v5.5.0.4 on there right now? Should I try flashing the latest version on top of it first than try to flash the stock recovery over that?

    I thought orignally that I was somehow flashing cwm-recovery but now I dont see how?
     
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2012
  14. Traveller

    Traveller Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,275
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    460
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros MID9742, Dell Streak 5, Samsung Galaxy S4, Nexus 6
    Is that other device a 9742? Also, did you make your dumps before installing ClockworkMod, or after? It makes a difference.

    Play it safe. Use the recovery.img from one of the 9742 system dumps instead, and ignore the nandroid backup. The recovery images for each of the dumps is guaranteed to be stock.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  15. vampirefo.

    vampirefo. Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3,828
    Likes Received:
    1,389
    Trophy Points:
    655
    Location:
    Huntington WV
    Tablet / Device:
    Leagoo Lead 1 ZTE OPEN C, Coby 7065, Coby 8042, Coby 9740
    download this 9742_stock_recovery.zip

    extract to your desktop

    adb push bob.img /data/local/tmp/bob.img

    adb push install-bob.sh /data/local/tmp/install-bob.sh

    adb shell

    chmod 777 /data/local/tmp/install-bob.sh

    su

    /data/local/tmp/install-bob.sh

    reboot-recovery
     
    • Like Like x 4

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

coby mid9742 system image