HELP - Connecting Tablet to TV/Streaming

n46krb

Nov 7, 2011
Hi All. I'm actually a computer tech but I'm a bit new to media boxes and the tablet as I've never dealt with it before, never had to. I'm familar with mso tof the terminology obvously and to Android. I'm actually posting this question for my uncle. I, personally have a far less complicated setup. I stream my media from my PC to my TV through HDMI - bam! done :p

HIS PROBLEM with SONY TABLET S:

He has a Sony Tablet S and has it connected to his home wireless network. He wants to be able to browse his media (videos, movies) from his desktop PC or his laptop ON his Sony Tablet...then he wants to connect his Tablet to his TV, somehow. Basically, he wants to be able to access the media on his laptop by means of the wireless connection...get it up on the tablet..then 'throw' it to his TV. He wants it to display on his TV. He was thinking he could connect his tablet to his TV somehow. The guy at the Sony store mentioned him getting a media box, which I am familiar with.

His TV has a few HDMI connections but that's part of the problem - the Sony Tablet lacks an HDMI port. His TV does NOT have any Ethernet or wireless devices built-in. He does have a Sony Blu-Ray player that has an Ethernet port and USB ports, which he uses all the time to connect an external Hard Drive to it, to playback downloaded media on his TV through the Blu-Ray player.

I want to know how to achieve this, what apps I need to do it (if any) and if someone can suggest a low-to mid price range media box. A step by step direction would be great. Looking for some suggestions and recommendations with regard to a good media box. He also uses Netflix a lot. Is it even possible to 'throw' media from the tablet to a TV like this? When the TV is not DLNA capable? I'm guessing that's what the media box is used for, as the Sony guy said? Thanks in advance and sorry about the jumble of a post!