Help me remove a gmail account without factory reset, Samsung Galaxy 7".

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy Note/Tab' started by Block, Apr 2, 2012.

  1. Block
    Offline

    Block Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NULL
    Hey guys,
    I am a standard computer / tablet user. I would say I am very good with technology. I can get out of jams, setup a basic network of my office, sync devices, etc. But that's as far as it goes. I am absolutely not a computer guy. I just use them. Ok, I say this first because I don't think I want to root my tablet, which is one way I've researched that I can remove the account, but maybe I do? I love the way my tablet operates now, I just want to remove an old gmail account, and I am worried about a factory reset and having to configure my tablet all over again. Can someone help me with this?
    Thank you,
    Sal
  2. J515OP
    Offline

    J515OP Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    5,174
    Likes Received:
    899
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern CA
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color, Nook Tablet 16GB, Vizio VTab, Nexus 7
    In what sense do you want to remove the gmail account? You can do into settings and prevent the account from syncing or remove it there but you need some sort of account to use the google market. If it is just a matter of replacing one account with another, you can do that trough settings. If you are looking to somehow completely remove the google account and not have one at all it may cause other issues with apps and services. It is better to leave it on there even if you are not using it.
    • Like Like x 2
  3. pavijay
    Offline

    pavijay Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    open the Menu, go to Settings option, then Account & sync, move to your account right under Manage accounts. Click your account and you’ll see Data & Synchronization tab. Move down to the bottom and you’ll see Remove account. Then it will hint this “Do you really want to remove this account? Removing it will also delete all……”. If you have backup the data (Contacts, SMS etc), then just hit “Remove account”. Depending on different cases, it will pop out a message warning “This account is required by some applications. You can only remove it by resetting the phone to factory defaults(which delete all your personal data)……” Then back to Settings -> Privacy -> Personal data -> Factory data reset. Click Reset Phone option and Erase everything. Then your phone will restart again and back to factory settings. Note: all your phone internal memory files (such as Contacts, SMS, Call log etc.) will gone, while the external memory stuff on your sd card will remain intact
  4. Block
    Offline

    Block Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NULL
    OK. Thanks. Got it.
  5. dodda
    Offline

    dodda Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chennai
    Tablet / Device:
    Samsung Galaxy S2
    Hi pavijay
    I don't want to change the gmail account, however i want to be disconnected. Because, my gmail account any how always connected so my friends always see me on their Gtalk. So they refer I am online.

    I want that I will only be connceted via Gmail/gtalk only when i wish to. Please advise how to do that.
  6. Frederuco
    Offline

    Frederuco Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    1,983
    Likes Received:
    501
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    /EARTH/USA/NC/
    Tablet / Device:
    ASUS TF101
    Open the app called TALK on your tablet. Tap the 3 dots in the top right hand corner and choose Sign Out

    In my experience, this is all it takes. It does not sign me in on reboot unless I go manually sign in unless I was signed in before the reboot. You can check the app settings to see if it has an automatically sign in on your version, but I could not find one on the version I am running

Share This Page