Help! My Nexus 7 won't connect with secure networks!

TechNewby

Oct 16, 2012
My husband and I just purchased our Nexus 7 a few days ago. Upon getting home and attempting to set them up, we discovered they won't connect at our house. When we attempt to connect, we usually get "Authenticating..." or "Connecting", sometimes followed by "Authentication problem", but usually it just sits and tries to authenticate/connect until we run out of patience and stop trying. We also have a problem whereby the silly thing says we have an "excellent" signal...until we try to connect, and suddenly the signal is "poor".

The same thing happens at my parents' house on their secure network.

Yes, I have double-checked the password. At both houses.

Our laptops have no trouble connecting to the wi-fi with the password we have.

I (keep in mind I'm not a techie at all, hence the name) decided to reset our router, not realizing it would erase our security settings. Lo-and-behold, after doing so I couldn't find the name of our network, but did find an unsecured network that had an awesome signal and got me online no problems. Again, I had yet to realize I'd wiped out our security, and was actually using our network, and chose to disconnect as I wasn't sure about who the network belonged to. My husband reset the security, and now we can't get on again.

We have been able to get them to connect to servers at a laundromat and a coffee shop- connections that needed no passwords to access them. We don't want to have to go out of the house to get online with our new toys (oops, I mean tools). We bought mine with the idea that I would be using at home most of the time.

Please help!

leeshor

Dec 27, 2011
Welcome to the forum

It may be the type of security you're using. Android doesn't seem to play well with WEP. WPA/WPA2 would be a better choice. Also possibly a change in the channel on the routers. Install WiFi Analyzer from the Store and check the possibility of a channel conflict.