Help!!! Need to root my coby mid 8084-4 cant find anything

pmb1903

Nov 16, 2012
Can someone please help me out here ive just bought 2 coby tablets a MID8048-4 and a mid7048. I really need to root and install android market. im not really worried about a custom rom at this point yet but just to get it stock and rooted im pretty sure its 3rd gen but i cant find anything on it or the other in the forums. im a windows user but i have good experience about rooting phones although i have never done a tablet before. just need to root and hopefully install clockwork mod recovery which i am very familiar with. i got these super cheap got my 8048 for 65 and my 7048 for 50 brand new never been opened. but i soon realized what the hell good are they having android 4.0.3 and no market/play.USELESS please someone help me!!!! any guidance will be greatly appriciated reply,pm or email me @ [email protected]. Thanks in advance

Traveller

Administrator
Staff member
Jun 16, 2012
1. Just because the Play Store isn't on the tablet doesn't make the tablet useless. There are decent alternatives, such as Amazon's Appstore. The Kyros tablets are certified to run it, and many of the most popular apps found in the Play Store can be found on it. I frequently tell users not wanting to root that they should install it and ignore GetJar.

2. Search for your tablet model on the forums. In this forum our developer points another 7048 user to a post where he can root his 7048. However, at this point in time there is no ClockworkMod recovery for these new tablets, because there are no dumps of the firmware to create a copy of ClockworkMod from. So, once you get yourself rooted you need to make a system dump (search for the instructions on how to do the dump) and post it.

3. Remove your email address from your post, unless of course you actually WANT spam flooding your email account.

pmb1903

Nov 16, 2012