Help With Keyboard

Discussion in 'Coby Tablets' started by RevKev, Apr 14, 2011.

  1. RevKev

    RevKev Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Petaluma CA
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros
    I have been trying to use a keyboard (full size) on the Coby to do some faster typing. But regardless of the program I'm using, it will type in the first word then, when I hit the space bar totype in the second word it erases it and replaces it with "I." Does anyone know what's going on?
    Thanks
     
  2. popeye1128

    popeye1128 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Arkansas
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby MID 7015
    Not all will work. Do you have another to try with the mini usb plug? I assume you're using the adapter with the one you've tried. Some full sized keyboards require allot of power from the port that maybe the Coby can't handle.
     
  3. kerry_s

    kerry_s Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Here
    Tablet / Device:
    coby mid7015
    You might want to take a look at thick buttons keyboard in the market, i find it helps me type faster & more accurately. Takes a little getting use to, feels weird at first with the keys changing shape.
     
  4. Sketch_Says

    Sketch_Says Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros MID7015 4G
    Not sure what might cause this, however; if you go to the main forum there is a post right under yours titled "anyone have experience with this case/keyboard". Have a look at the main post and it will give you an image of a case with a mini USB keyboard built in. I'm currently using that one and it works great. I'm typing this reply on it. I don't know about the Stock ROM but it works on Tipstr's Honeycomb ROM with absolutely no problems.

    Sent from my HONEYCOMB V9.5.5 B9 for Kyros 7015,

    Sketch J. OBrien
    Jacksonville, FL
     
  5. RevKev

    RevKev Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Petaluma CA
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros
    Thank you all for your insights. The keyboard I was trying to use is a free extra one that I have on hand. I guess I'll have to break down and buy one of the the keyboard cases. They look great and I know they'll do the job; I'll just have to save up my pennies.
    Thanks again; its good to be part of this forum.
     
  6. LarryS

    LarryS Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros 7015
    Look at your keyboard setup options. It looks as if you are using SwiftKey with "space automatically selects center suggestion" selected.

    Sent from my Kyros 7015 using the Android Tablet Forum App powered by Tapatalk.
     
  7. RevKev

    RevKev Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Petaluma CA
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros
    Thanks - I'll look again. I had to uninstall SwiftKey because I was low on space - so I'll try it again minus that app. I'll let you know.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

help tablet with keyboard 2014