Help Won't Connect to Wifi

Discussion in 'Gome Flytouch II Variant 2' started by Reverb, Mar 28, 2011.

  1. Reverb
    Offline

    Reverb Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i got the tablet today and it runs great and it also connected to wifi but after like an hour or so when i come back the wifi is gone and when i try to reconnect it doesn't show my router in there despite im right next to it and when i add it in manually it just keeps saying its out of range so anyway you guys can help me out

    Thanks
    Reverb
  2. dwcunpluged
    Offline

    dwcunpluged Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Carson, CO
    Since I did the firmware upgrade I am having WiFi issues myself. I don't really understand this yet, but I am looking for a solution as well.


    Update: it now makes a liar out of me and starts working again. We shall see how long that lasts. :)
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2011
  3. Reverb
    Offline

    Reverb Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i didn't do any firmware upgrade though although this tablet is 10 times better then the one they sent me before so im kinda glad but hopefully there is a solution
  4. dwcunpluged
    Offline

    dwcunpluged Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Carson, CO
    Okay, so now I am not sure if the issue is my wifi router or my tablet. I have been having connectivity issues with both my laptop (running Ubuntu) and my tablet. My wife's laptop (windows 7) does not seem to have any issues talking to the router. I am still looking into all of this. But I can say that the range has been reduced a little since the upgrade. I may send the ap*d people an email and see if they have an answer. I don't know how to make a "yeah, right" face or I would.
  5. Reverb
    Offline

    Reverb Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Lol yeah that happens to me sometimes but restart it and the it gets conncected again not sure what the prob could be but as for now i think i'll stay away from the updating to the new firmware and btw as ubcan got the reply thing figuree out lol took a little while

    Sent from my sdk using Android Tablet Forum App
  6. dwcunpluged
    Offline

    dwcunpluged Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Carson, CO
    Good lol, I thought you meant the pm, lol. But glad you figured it out.

    Sent from my Huawei Ascend M860 using Android Tablet Forum App
  7. Reverb
    Offline

    Reverb Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah but on the topic mine starts working again after i restart it not sure what the problem could be in your case

    Sent from my sdk using Android Tablet Forum App
  8. dwcunpluged
    Offline

    dwcunpluged Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Carson, CO
    I don't know either, but I really am starting to think it is the router.

    Sent from my Huawei Ascend M860 using Android Tablet Forum App
  9. Reverb
    Offline

    Reverb Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hopefully it works on router could be a prob, keep us posted though

    Sent from my sdk using Android Tablet Forum App
  10. sheep5161
    Offline

    sheep5161 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    HongKong
    I think you should restart router or System reset
  11. dwcunpluged
    Offline

    dwcunpluged Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Carson, CO
    I have reset my router twice, but like I said, only my wife, well and my daughters (also windows 7,) seem to have a consistent connection. I think my router is biased in favor of Microsoft. :/

    Sent from my Huawei Ascend M860 using Android Tablet Forum App
  12. maildrop
    Offline

    maildrop Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you wife's and daughter's PC are Ok to connect through Wi-Fi. It is your deivce - Tablet has an issue. Find out from your wife or daughter's PC what IP address they have on thier PC (Ipconfig /all). Then you use a static IP address to try out on your tablet. And you will know the answer.

    Remember ie. Ip address: 192.168.0.200
    subnet mask: 255.255.255.0
    Gateway add: 192.168.0.1
    DNS :192.168.0.1

    etc.

    Disable your Static IP address afterwards.

    Good luck.
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2011
  13. dwcunpluged
    Offline

    dwcunpluged Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Carson, CO
    I have tried that with my laptop, which is having the same problem and it still acts up every now and then. Maybe there is just a setting I am missing or something on the pc and the tablet.

    Sent from my Huawei Ascend M860 using Android Tablet Forum App
  14. Reverb
    Offline

    Reverb Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Lol i get that sometime too but that is only cause of the router but i seem to have steady connection on mine right now

    Sent from my sdk using Android Tablet Forum App
  15. dwcunpluged
    Offline

    dwcunpluged Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Carson, CO
    When I finally do get connected it works fine. I will figure it out soon.

    Sent from my Huawei Ascend M860 using Android Tablet Forum App
  16. dwcunpluged
    Offline

    dwcunpluged Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Carson, CO
    And I am an idiot. I keep arning others about accidently deleting things they need and that is exactly what I did to cause my internet to stop working on the tablet. I am now back up and rocking along again.

    Sent from my Flytouch 2 Generation 2 using Android Tablet Forum App
  17. Chandos
    Offline

    Chandos Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    I have seen many threads with wifi issues on FT3/SP2, especially it seems with update 20110302. Some people report success with reapplying this firmware (Update #3). My friend has same issue, he will wait for next firmware. You could try rolling back to an older firmware, or wait for the next one (My pad came with 20110316 and I have no wifi issues, but I have not seen this firmware for d/l yet?!)
    Anyways, hope you work it out.
  18. dwcunpluged
    Offline

    dwcunpluged Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Carson, CO
    I actually just reinstalled the update, and then didn't erase the necessary files. Mine works beautifully now. There is now another ROM (beta) posted here in the forum that I am going to tey after I get home: )

    Sent from my Huawei Ascend M860 using Android Tablet Forum App
  19. jwsmith9806
    Offline

    jwsmith9806 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    columbus ga
    if your phone connects to public networks but not your home this is most likely your problem and solution.............
    the solution is simple, first go into your routers configuration find mac address for your device then the ip your router is issuing to your device make sure the router's ip or any other device on your network, is not the same, if it is give your router a different address,ortry giving your phone a static ip, when two devices have the same ip,this causes conflict....this was my problem on my android phone, huawei accend 860 and i tried everything i discovered this on my own... it works!!!
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2011
    dwcunpluged and (deleted member) like this.
  20. dwcunpluged
    Offline

    dwcunpluged Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Carson, CO
    Glad to see I am not the only one using the Ascend. Hope you are loving yours too. But the wifi connection problem with my tablet was carelessness on my part. I accidently deleted a couple of files I needed. Oops. Thank you for the info about the IP address thing, I have placed that on my troubleshoot checklist.

    Sent from my Huawei Ascend M860 using Android Tablet Forum App

Share This Page