honeycomb or gingerbread

dodgefan67

Nov 9, 2011
im sure this has been asked over and over, but im new to android and will be buying a device soon, so i want to know should i get one with honeycomb on it since that was the first OS specifically for tablets or one with gingerbread and hope i can upgrade it later? im assuming gingerbread has more apps and support?

Carbira1

Aug 7, 2010
If you are getting one now then get a Honeycomb device because they generally have better hardware in them. If you can wait for IceCream devices to come out. The new Asus Transformer should come out in December.

dodgefan67

Nov 9, 2011
thanks. since my price point is 250 and under, probably have to be gingerbread or older?

dodgefan67

Nov 9, 2011
WOW!!! that is a screamin deal!!!

but...i dont think i want one that big, plus that thing weighs just a hair over 1.5 pounds, i'd be daff not to get that, but i'll keep looking, thanks for that link though!!

J515OP

Super Moderator
Staff member
Jan 6, 2011
How about this BARNES & NOBLE | NOOK Tablet which is perfectly in your price point. Assuming it has the same openess as the Nook Color you should easily be able upgrade the or run a custom ROM.

Honeycomb is on its way out so there is no advantage to getting a tablet just because it has Honeycomb. Like Carbira said, the only advantage is that a tablet running Honeycomb is likely to have better specs. As long as you get the specs you want don't let the version of Android stop you.

dodgefan67

Nov 9, 2011
How about this BARNES & NOBLE | NOOK Tablet which is perfectly in your price point. Assuming it has the same openess as the Nook Color you should easily be able upgrade the or run a custom ROM.

Honeycomb is on its way out so there is no advantage to getting a tablet just because it has Honeycomb. Like Carbira said, the only advantage is that a tablet running Honeycomb is likely to have better specs. As long as you get the specs you want don't let the version of Android stop you.