How can I install Google Play on my Coby Kyros MID8042?

arnelorecruz

Jul 26, 2012
I want to install Google Play on my Coby Kyros MID8042 but I don't know how to. This is my first time to have a tablet. It has a built in Apps downloader called Getjar but some of the apps that I want are not there. My colleagues got ONDA china android tablet and theirs have a built in Google Play. They have better applications compared to me. Please help me and give me step by step instructions on how to do it if it's possible. Thank you so much in advance. God bless!:)

JonsZX2SR

Jan 30, 2012
Halfway there. Installed some of the GAPPS files. Google Maps works. Having a problem setting up a Google account. Market doesn't work (yet.)

Natey2

May 25, 2012
Why doesn't Coby install GAPPS and Google Play, so that end-users won't have to try to do it themselves?

vampirefo.

Developer
Nov 8, 2011
Why doesn't Coby install GAPPS and Google Play, so that ewon't he to try to do it themselves?
Why don''t car dealers install after market stereos? Cause they aren't part of the package. Play store isn't part of coby package. You can install an after market stereo in your car and you can install play store on your coby tablet.
But neither business is going to do it for you.

Natey2

May 25, 2012
Why don''t car dealers install after market stereos? Cause they aren't part of the package. Play store isn't part of coby package. You can install an after market stereo in your car and you can install play store on your coby tablet.
But neither business is going to do it for you.

I'd say GetJar is the after-market stereo in the example above.
GAPPS and Google Play are from Google, who publish Android.
Coby runs Android, doesn't it? Or does it run CobyOS?

It's about time end-users compelled manufacturers to do what the end users rightfully want and what Google intended.
Or they'll be looking for hacks that neither Coby nor Google might want to support.

vampirefo.

Developer
Nov 8, 2011