How do I View my HDD thru my Acer Iconia A500 tablet,

Discussion in 'Acer Iconia Tab A500 Accessories' started by lorichiz, Sep 17, 2011.

  1. lorichiz

    lorichiz Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    I don't seem to be able to view my HDD thru my Acer, can someone please tell the steps I need to take... I have an Iconia A500, and a 1tb "my passport" HDD WD..... CHEERS

    Sent from my A500 using Android Tablet Forum
     
  2. elsuirad

    elsuirad Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    195
    Location:
    Currently on KSA
    Tablet / Device:
    SAMSUNG S5 Mini
    Your Tablet should be rooted and updated to 3.1.

    Install from one of the ROM's so you can view files from your external HDD's and also install a File Manager application (choose the one that suites you).

    Welcome to the Forum.
     
  3. Spider

    Spider Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    15,413
    Likes Received:
    1,784
    Trophy Points:
    1,000
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Tablet / Device:
    NOOK Tablet Stock NOOKcolor Rooted/Flashed Nexus 7 (2013) 32GB Stock
    +1 on the file manager.

    Welcome to the forum, glad you joined us.
     
  4. Douvie

    Douvie Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,030
    Likes Received:
    71
    Trophy Points:
    132
    Location:
    Kyneton, Australia
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500 & Sumsung Galaxy Note 10.1
    +1 again on the file manager - something like FILEEXPERT works well for me.

    Didn't think you need to root your tablet for that. With the latest update to 3.2, for Honeycomb, has improved support for read only NTFS.
     
  5. elsuirad

    elsuirad Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    195
    Location:
    Currently on KSA
    Tablet / Device:
    SAMSUNG S5 Mini
    Think twice before updating to v3.2. I lose my root privileges after that.

    Better search for the one with updating to 3.2 with root thread so you'll be saffe.
     
  6. Douvie

    Douvie Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,030
    Likes Received:
    71
    Trophy Points:
    132
    Location:
    Kyneton, Australia
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500 & Sumsung Galaxy Note 10.1
    Question is:
    Has he rooted his tablet?

    And besides I could read 1TB before 3.2 came out. 3.1 did not have the unmount/mount ability. As far as rooting goes I don't think anyone has been able to do it to 3.2. There is a post that tells you how to make your tablet go back to 3.01 and then update to 3.1 with different ROM but the you never get 3.2 doing that..
     

Share This Page