[How To] Connect to Adhoc Networks (Tether) Apad iRobot and Rockchip 2808a Variants

Discussion in 'Android Tablet Usage, Tips & Tricks' started by xaueious, Aug 3, 2010.

  1. xaueious

    xaueious Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,483
    Likes Received:
    435
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Location:
    Canada
    Tablet / Device:
    Asus Transformer TF300, Huwaei Ideos S7-104, HSG X5A, (Past APAD IMX515, APAD RK2808, RK2818 RT7)
    This may also work on the Archos 7 Home Tablet

    Credits to alangor on Slatedroid.

    You need to access your device using adb, or DroidExplorer.

    The file you need to modify is:
    /data/misc/wifi/wpa_supplicant.conf

    (adb pull /data/misc/wifi/wpa_supplicant.conf)

    Open this with notepad++ or Wordpad, as a txt file.

    You will see something like the following. Ignore the arrows and change the bolded parts to match:
    Code:
    ctrl_interface=/data/system/wpa_supplicant
    ctrl_interface_group=1000
    update_config=1
    
    [B]eapol_version=1[/B]  <--------------- Add this
    [B]ap_scan=2[/B]        <---------------------- Add this
    
    
    network={                        
        [B]ssid="MY_WIFI_NETWORK_NAME"[/B]   <--------------Wifi name 
        [B]scan_ssid=1[/B]  <------------Add this 
        key_mgmt=NONE
        [B]wep_key0=1234567800[/B]  <------- WEP key password you set
        mode=1      
        priority=1
    }
        
    Now replace the original file that is on your device. Your device will now attempt to connect to your Adhoc network.

    (adb push wpa_supplicant.conf /data/misc/wifi/wpa_supplicant.conf)

    If you setup a new connection, these settings will be overwritten.
     
  2. probbiethe1

    probbiethe1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,838
    Likes Received:
    139
    Trophy Points:
    310
    Location:
    Gilbert, Arizona
    awesome updated instructions, do we know how to do this with other tablets?
     
  3. xaueious

    xaueious Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,483
    Likes Received:
    435
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Location:
    Canada
    Tablet / Device:
    Asus Transformer TF300, Huwaei Ideos S7-104, HSG X5A, (Past APAD IMX515, APAD RK2808, RK2818 RT7)
    The instructions were ported from the Eken.

    Typically the file is in /etc/wifi/wpa_supplicant.conf

    Can you verify?
     
  4. rk73

    rk73 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    NULL
    Managed to connect apad via adhoc to my windows mobile, but cant browse the web, any ideas?
     
  5. xaueious

    xaueious Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,483
    Likes Received:
    435
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Location:
    Canada
    Tablet / Device:
    Asus Transformer TF300, Huwaei Ideos S7-104, HSG X5A, (Past APAD IMX515, APAD RK2808, RK2818 RT7)
  6. rk73

    rk73 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    NULL
    After trying to solve this tethering problem for one week I managed using this solution, but after adding: "ctrl_interface_group=1000" in second line of the zipped files.

    Had problem at first tethering from my windows mobile but after trying the old free wmwifirouter I finally could connect web pages :)
     
  7. xaueious

    xaueious Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,483
    Likes Received:
    435
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Location:
    Canada
    Tablet / Device:
    Asus Transformer TF300, Huwaei Ideos S7-104, HSG X5A, (Past APAD IMX515, APAD RK2808, RK2818 RT7)
    Sounds good :)
     
  8. igotitiscool

    igotitiscool Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    NULL
    I have done this to the T, i named my ssid AndroidTether, now my laptop sees two AndroidTethers, the one from my EVO which is unsecured and rooted , plus this one that i name AndroidTether in the string i did, and it tries to connect to AndroidTether, from the the string, does not see the AndroidTether from my rooted EVO. please help
     
  9. rk73

    rk73 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    NULL
    I am not sure if I understand what you mean, did you create a network on your laptop or you apad? You should only make one with your tethering software for Evo and edit the config file for your Apad,

    By the way, I have heard Evo supports access point tethering so its unnessesary to try to setup adhoc tethering.
    Try google for evo tethering
     
  10. igotitiscool

    igotitiscool Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    NULL
    i have not set nothing up with laptop, it just sees all networks and my EVO is Rooted.
     
  11. rk73

    rk73 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    NULL
    View attachment $wpa_supplicant.zip Try this conf file with Androidtether as "access point" if you prefer adhoc on Evo.
    Be sure to set up same name in tether app on Evo, if it doesnt work try another tether app.
     
  12. igotitiscool

    igotitiscool Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    NULL
    the problem i have since last nite is when it obtaining a ip address it becomes unsuccesful do you have a idea why? i use wireless tether, i tried barnacle(free) but have not gottan that to work at all for me, and with the zip file you sent i like cuz the one string i been using goes bad after a fail attempt and i have to do it all over.
     
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2010
  13. rk73

    rk73 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    NULL
    If you cant get it to work, read the link and skip adhoc.
    Free Android WiFi Tether For Root Users App Now Supports WPA2 And Full Hotspot (Infrastructure) Capabilities On EVO 4G | Android News, Reviews, Applications, Games, Phones, Devices, Tips, Hacks, Videos, Podcasts - Android Police
     
  14. igotitiscool

    igotitiscool Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    NULL
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2010
  15. applicationz

    applicationz Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    NULL
    sir please help i am not able to install droid explorr it says droid startup service failed to start
    i am new
    i wanted to know that is anthying other required before installing droid like adb
    and how to run adb commands i dnt have any software
    please help
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

irobot mobile tathering wifi setup

,
rockchip tablet adhoc
,
rockchip tablet wifi ssid